Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
An All New Wild Stars Adventure from Michael Tierney + 35th Anniversary Editions of Wild Stars 1-3!
39 backers pledged $3,104 to help bring this project to life.

About

Cirsova Presents--Wild Stars IV: Wild Star Rising project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound

$3,104

39

Cirsova Publishing is teaming up once again with Michael Tierney to publish his all new SFF time-travel adventure set in his Wild Stars universe, Wild Star Rising!

Plus, to celebrate the 35th Anniversary of Wild Stars, Cirsova will be releasing all-new premium magazine-style editions of the Wild Stars graphic novel, Book of Circles, and the hybrid comic/novel, Force Majeure. We'll also be reprinting a new 2019 edition of last year's Kickstarter-exclusive illustrated novella, Time Warmageddon. 

 Left to Right: The new Book of Circle, Force Majeure, Time Warmageddon, and Wild Star Rising

What It Is

Wild Stars is a Sword & Planet space epic in the vein of Gardner F. Fox or Edger Rice Burroughs on the scale of Jack Kirby's Fourth World! With adventures through space and time, battles between warring immortals, and even a giant space shark, Wild Stars is classic pulp science fiction at its best!

Wild Stars IV: Wild Star Rising is both a prequel and sequel to the previous Wild Stars adventures. Looking back 75,000 years into the past to the last days of Atlantis and the final exodus to the Wild Stars led by the Ancient Warrior, Wild Star Rising unfolds the aeons-long plan to rescue the Ancient Warrior's long-lost beloved, Phaedra, from the heart of a black hole where she was imprisoned by another powerful immortal... A sailor from earth's distant past must join with the Ancient Warrior's Wild Stars companions to help them navigate the great gulfs of space, free Phaedra from her black-hole prison, and stop the extra-dimensional squids that could destroy the universe if they were to meet up and mate!

This illustrated novel will be printed in Cirsova Magazine's 8.5" x 11" format, matching the previously released Time Warmageddon, the new 35th Anniversary Editions of Book of Circles and Force Majeure, and your collection of Cirsovas! 

Wild Star Rising will also contain the first-ever extensive bio-glossary of Wild Stars universe, making it a must-have for old and new fans alike!

35th Anniversary Editions of Wild Stars I-III

Cirsova Publishing will be creating an all new standard edition of all previous Wild Stars books that will match the new release, Wild Star Rising. Each will feature new cover artwork by Mark Wheatley and be printed in Cirsova's large premium magazine format.

Additionally, we will be offering a Deluxe Omnibus Hardcover of over 700 pages, collecting all 4 volumes of Wild Stars in a single coffee table edition with wraparound dust-jacket art by Cirsova cover artist Anton Oxenuk.

Wild Stars: Book of Circles collects the early comics, Erlik (WS Vo1 1 #1) and First Marker (WS Vol 2 #1), placed chronologically within the 2001-2002 run of Wild Stars comics (WS Vol 3 #1-7)

Book of Circles tells the story of conflicting timelines and parallel worlds that culminate an alliance between a wolf-like alien race called the Brothan and alternate time-line fascists, the Artomiques, that aims to attack and destroy the earth by launching a comet at Jupiter to ignite it as a second sun. 

These comics feature artwork by Frank Brunner (Doctor Strange, Howard the Duck), David Brewer (Cable, Deadpool), Dave Simons (Ghost Rider), and Michael Tierney, plus the collected editions feature additional painted works by Mary Tierney. 

Wild Stars II: Force Majeure wraps an 83,000 word novel around 38 pages of comics penciled by Armando Gil (Conan the King, Ka-Zar the Savage), along with 50 'flashback' illustrations by Dave Simons.

Seeking revenge for his defeat, Carthage kidnaps the First Marker's infant daughter and absconds with her through time! Erlik and Daestar aid Mark Mackavicka and Akara in their search through time for their missing daughter. Except to preserve the future and prevent a resurgence of the Brothan empire, they can't rescue Mark and Akara's daughter until she's already a grown woman!

Wild Stars III: Time Warmageddon continues the saga of the Wild Stars as former-President Bully Bravo seeks to solve the mysteries of distant suns going missing, only to be replaced by white dwarfs, and newly discovered planets showing the apparent signs of previous human colonization, all while pursued by an evil pirate queen and a rogue time-traveler trying to create a god.

This novella featured cover art by Timothy Lim (My Hero Magademia, Black Hops: USA GI, Street Fighter), and interior illustrations  and two variant covers by Mark Wheatley (Song of Giants: the Poetry of Pulp, The Flash, Blood of the Innocent).

This new edition will reprint this one-time Kickstarter-exclusive edition with new bonus content, including an additional epilogue on the whereabouts of Akara and the First Marker, two stories by Michael Tierney originally published in Cirsova Magazine, and the previously unpublished Wild Stars story, The Grimgrip.


Front of Hardcover Omnibus
Front of Hardcover Omnibus

Freebies!

Backers will receive free Wild Stars stickers, art prints, and posters while supplies last!  

International Shipping [IS Available...!]

International Shipping is a beast and always a huge question mark for projects like this. While at first we considered keeping this Kickstarter exclusively domestic the way we did our previous crowdfund, we have decided to offer a flat global pledge rate. We can't guess what all of the shipping rates around the world will end up being, so we had to use a high-end estimate based on last year--if the estimated shipping proves substantially higher than actual shipping, we will issue partial refunds of the difference [something we have done in the past for Cirsova subscriptions when we over-estimated shipping costs]

Who We Are

Cirsova Publishing is an acclaimed publisher of science fiction and fantasy adventure whose flagship publication, Cirsova Magazine was a 2017 Hugo Awards finalist for Best Semi-Pro Zine.

Cirsova has published a dozen issues since 2016 and in 2019 published Duel Visions, an anthology of weird fiction by Misha Burnett and Louise Sorensen, and an illustrated edition of Leigh Brackett's Eric John Stark stories to celebrate the 70th Anniversary of Queen of the Martian Catacombs appearing in Planet Stories Magazine.

Michael Tierney has been involved in comics and the publishing industry since the 70s. Owner and proprietor of both The Comic Book Store and Collector's Edition, Michael was a Finalist for both the Star*Reach Comics Retailer of the Year Award in 1985 and the Will Eisner Spirit of the Comics Retailer of the Year Award in 1999, has been an Overstreet Comic Book Price Guide Advisor since the 1990s, and is a staple of Central Arkansas' comic scene.  A former journeyman printer and printing division manager, he's written, published, and at times even penciled, inked, and printed his own comics. He is currently writing, lettering, and coloring Edgar Rice Burroughs® Beyond the Farthest StarTM. His best-selling four volume Edgar Rice Burroughs 100 Year Art Chronology published by Chenault & Gray was released in 2018. Michael has been a regular contributor to Cirsova Heroic Fantasy and Science Fiction Magazine and recently published "Young Tarzan and the Mysterious She" expanded from a previously "lost" fragment by Edgar Rice Burroughs in the new Cirsova Magazine of Thrilling Adventure and Daring Suspense.

Michael Tierney's Wild Stars has been the work of a life-time. Michael has spent years telling the sprawling story of the galactic exodus of the first space-faring race of men before the dawn of history as we know it. He has expanded his world across zines, comic books and novels over the decades. Since 2018, however, the Wild Stars universe is in high gear, first with last year's publication of Wild Stars III: Time Warmageddon and now with Wild Stars IV: Wild Stars Rising.

More About The Wild Stars

More information on Michael Tierney's Wild Stars can be found on his webpage: www.thewildstars.com

Risks and challenges

This has been a big undertaking, and there have been a few bumps along the road. However, we feel confident that we can deliver these books on-time as we always have in the past.

Learn about accountability on Kickstarter
Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 20 or more About US$ 20

    Wild Stars IV: Wild Star Rising

    Receive a copy of the all new Wild Stars adventure novel, Wild Star Rising!
    Plus free Wild Stars stickers and Art Prints while supplies last!

    Includes:
    • Wild Stars IV: Wild Star Rising
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    15 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 90 or more About US$ 90

    Wild Stars 35th Anniversary Set

    Receive a complete set of the new 35th Anniversary Editions of Wild Stars!
    Plus freebies!

    Includes:
    • 35th Anniversary Set
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    5 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 100 or more About US$ 100

    Wild Stars Hardcover Omnibus

    Receive a copy of the Wild Stars 35th Anniversary Hardcover Omnibus.
    Plus freebies!

    Includes:
    • Wild Stars Hardcover Omnibus
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    8 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 180 or more About US$ 180

    Complete Set + Omnibus

    Everything! Get the softcover set of the new edition of Wild Stars + the hardcover omnibus edition!

    Includes:
    • 35th Anniversary Set
    • Wild Stars Hardcover Omnibus
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    6 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (21 days)