Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
Lord British returns to his fantasy RPG roots with Shroud of the Avatar, hearkening back to his innovative early work.
Lord British returns to his fantasy RPG roots with Shroud of the Avatar, hearkening back to his innovative early work.
Lord British returns to his fantasy RPG roots with Shroud of the Avatar, hearkening back to his innovative early work.
22,322 backers pledged $1,919,275 to help bring this project to life.

Release 34 Instructions

6 likes

Greetings Avatars, 

Please read this entire message, as well as the linked instructions and known issues.

Thank you for being a loyal backer and follower of Shroud of the Avatar. Release 34 access for all backers begins this Thursday, September 29, at 10:30 AM US Central Daylight Time (15:30 UTC).

 

Combat and Economic Polish and Balance:

Release 34 is our first chance since persistence to really analyze our current set of data and begin to execute major steps towards balancing and polishing Combat and the 

As described in this forum post, we are making several changes to provide more gold to casual players. Those changes include Daily Oracle Confessions (500 gold), increased experience and gold rewards for Path of Love Quests, Outlander Tracking Program (100 gold per town), Mail Quests expansion, and First Bind Point reward.

Combat also received a lot of attention, with over 20 balance changes related to skills, taming, health / focus regen rates, and critical hits. We also added several new skills including new healing skills outside of Life Magic and new reactive skills.

Crafting, Cooking, and Food:

Crafting got a major expansion with 45 new recipes, including our first recipe built from difficult to obtain rares (Bone Armor) and a refactor of how food works that makes it much more relevant to game play.

Bone Armor, a new type of armor, is crafted at a Tailoring table from bones refined at a Carpentry station (the first armor to involve Carpentry). It has the attributes of Heavy Armor (high Damage Avoidance) but it is actually classified as Light Armor, so when Masterworked, your modifiers will be Light Armor modifiers and your skills used with it will be Light Armor skills. It also has very high durability, making it ideal for Enchanting and Masterworking. However, the bones needed to craft it are exceedingly difficult to acquire. In addition to the normal Tailoring, Carpentry, and Smithing ingredients (leather, cloth, thread, wax, metal etc.) Bone Armor requires parts from Dragons, Phoenixes, Demons, and Tier 5 Skeletons.

We are finally making the eating of Food relevant to gameplay. Health and Focus regeneration have been slowed down (see Combat section below) and now eating Food is the primary way to increase those rates. We have also made it so food (and other consumables like Potions) can be used from inventory via double-click or right-click while you are not in combat. They no longer have to be used from the shortcut bar. In fact, food is no longer part of the deck system at all. We have also expanded the types of foods you can eat to include raw foods like fruit, not just prepared foods. These raw foods will offer very small, short buffs. Finally, foods will now be tiered in their effects based on the amount and types of ingredients. There are 6 tiers. In Release 34, we still only have Tiers 0–2, but we are planning to expand into the higher tiers in future releases. Normal Food will affect Health and Focus Regen rates while Fantastical and Special Foods will give more magical effects (but may also have negative effects).

Path of Love Polish:

We continue to polish the Path of Love to bring it up to the level of a Lord British experience. In Release 34, our main focus was on the Necropolis where we added an NPC at the entrance of the Necropolis Barrens to warn newer players to keep to the road. Said road now goes from the entrance of the Necropolis Barrens to the Necropolis itself and is properly marked, and safer than traveling through the other parts of the Barrens. We also added a new spirit named Lacey (after our fallen community member) to the entrance of the Necropolis. The spirit talker you hired in Ardoris will now accompany you through the Necropolis and fight alongside you (note: not all spirit talkers are created equal) and warn you if you veer into dangerous areas. The difficulty of some of the monsters has been toned down (the terror of the poison spiders will live on in memory). Additionally, the ending is clearer as to what is expected to happen next, and the player can exit if they wish directly into the next part of the story. We also continued polishing Ardoris as well.

 

Halloween:

Of course I have to mention our favorite time of the year: Halloween! We had to make sure that the game was filled with enough spooky content this year so we went over the top! The scary items range from ghostly pets to gross emotes, to ghastly costumes, all the way up to a Gothic (aka Haunted) Mansion!

Yet again, I want to express a huge amount of gratitude to our Dev+ backers who tested all of the items below on the QA server and uncovered lots of bugs. They also provided editorial feedback on this post. So, they are a big reason that this post actually matches what is in the game, and that it is easy to read.

While we are getting closer to launch, we are still in a constant state of change, and we do not yet have all the in-game systems to inform players of these changes, or to share ways to help them to explore new content and systems. This means we rely mostly on this message, and the linked instructions and known issues to convey the current game state. We regularly have to answer questions or filter bug reports because some players elect not to read this valuable information.

By taking a few moments to read through this information, a great deal of our time and efforts can be redirected to focus on new “unanswered” questions, and addressing critical issues impacting each release. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review this post, and for all the truly valuable feedback you continue to provide.

Also, remember that while we are providing new content with each release, our community is working overtime to make new events for you to enjoy. Be sure to check out a couple of the event calendars run by our community members (via in-game book or the player run websites: Avatars Circle and Events of the Avatars). You can also get the latest official events on the Main Website.

Please see the complete R34 Instructions and updates notes on the main website!

Sincerely,

Starr Long
aka Darkstarr
Executive Producer

SotA Con – A Shroud of the Avatar Fan Convention – Nov. 4-6, 2016

12 likes

Hail Avatars!

Portalarium is excited to participate in the first ever community organized convention for Shroud of the Avatar – SotA Con East 2016! SotA developers and players alike will be gathering together for a casual for a casual weekend filled with exciting activities, engaging panel discussions, and of course plenty of gameplay sessions.

SotA Con East runs from November 4-6, 2016 in Baltimore Inner Harbor, Maryland. Registration is still open, so get your tickets by visiting the official event site now!

Developers Attending

Richard "Lord British" Garriott
Richard "Lord British" Garriott

 “I am humbled and thrilled to be speaking at SotA Con. It’s amazing how passionate our community is in supporting each other around such a great idea as this event, which is entirely organized and driven by the community itself. Even if you are not yet a player of Shroud of the Avatar but are interested in learning more about it, I encourage you to attend!” - Richard Garriott, Creative Director

Starr "Darkstarr" Long
Starr "Darkstarr" Long

“Talking directly to the players about the game’s development is super important to me, and what better way to do that than in person. I really look forward to getting to know everyone that can make it to SotA Con. If you haven’t already purchased your tickets to the event, do it! SotA Con is going to be a blast!” - Starr Long, Executive Producer

Mathew "Berek" Anderson
Mathew "Berek" Anderson

 “I am so impressed by this community! SotA Con is a magnificent face-to-face event that is going to be perfect to get players together for one fun weekend. I can’t wait to arrive and get to know everyone in person, play the game with others, and have a ton of fun celebrating what the community has built in the game so far!” - Mathew "Berek" Anderson, Senior Community Manager

About Sota Con

SotA Con is entirely planned and funded by the players, for the players and developers. This once again shows how our passionate and dedicated players are creating exciting opportunities for the rest of the community, and succeeding magnificently.

If you have any questions, you can reach organizers through the official website at http://east.sotacon.org/contact-us, and can discuss the event on the SotA Forums Post with other attendees.

See you there Avatars!

SotA Con East 2016
SotA Con East 2016

 

Release 33 Instructions

10 likes

 

Greetings Avatars,

Thank you for being a loyal backer and follower of Shroud of the Avatar! Release 33 access for all backers at First Responder level and above begins this Thursday, August 25, at 10:30 AM US Central Daylight Time (15:30 UTC).

Please read this entire message, as well as the linked instructions and known issues.

Impact of Persistence:

Release 33 is our first Release since we went Persistent with Release 32. Being persistent of course has had an impact on the project and how we move forward. We made the tactical decision that the immediate needs of R32 would take precedence over any R33 work. Quality of life, balance issues, exploits, stability, performance, etc. in R32 would be patched regularly, daily if needed, even if it cost us some R33 deliverables. The result of this decision has been incredibly positive. Overall player mood remains high as does our funding, which reached an astounding $10 Million during our Summer Telethon of the Avatar Part 2 (which by itself raised $200K!) This funding will allow us to finish the Roadmap we outlined earlier this year that both finishes our Kickstarter promises, while at the same time polishes the game to a very high standard. Thank you community for your incredibly humbling generosity.

 

Housing:

Lot Selection has wrapped up and in Release 33 we will be starting the Lot Deed Raffle for Taxable Lot Deeds in the game. This will be our method to distribute the remaining available land in the game in all locations (NPC towns, Player Run Towns, and Player Owned Towns). Additionally, Release 33 will be the first appearance of uncloned scenes that include player lots after persistence. These will give players a chance to see how we will be improving and individualizing each scene while preserving the game mechanics.

PVP:

We have always said that all PVP in Shroud of the Avatar will be consensual and players will choose to engage, or not to engage. With that said, we also want to make sure PVP is an integral part of the experience and is a balance of risk vs. reward. For those reasons, players will now encounter other players in zones flagged for PvP regardless of their match-making mode. You will no longer be able to enter these areas in Single-Player or Friends modes to circumvent PvP risk. There are a few areas, like the Obsidian Ruins, where story elements require venturing inside. However, we are going to work on alternate ways for players to navigate those areas like we have experimented with in some of the Control Points (i.e. the teleporting Wizard). We know this change will be controversial, but we believe it is the best decision for the long-term health of the game.

 

Yet again, I want to express a huge amount of gratitude to our Dev+ backers who tested all of the items below on the QA server and uncovered lots of bugs. They also provided editorial feedback on this post. So, they are a big reason that this post actually matches what is in the game, and that it is easy to read.

While we are getting closer to launch, we are still in a constant state of change, and we do not yet have all the in-game systems to inform players of these changes, or to share ways to help them to explore new content and systems. This means we rely mostly on this message, and the linked instructions and known issues to convey the current game state. We regularly have to answer questions or filter bug reports because some players elect not to read this valuable information.

By taking a few moments to read through this information, a great deal of our time and efforts can be redirected to focus on new “unanswered” questions, and addressing critical issues impacting each release. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review this post, and for all the truly valuable feedback you continue to provide.

Also, remember that while we are providing new content with each release, our community is working overtime to make new events for you to enjoy. Be sure to check out a couple of the event calendars run by our community members (via in-game book or the player run websites: Avatars Circle and Events of the Avatars). You can also get the latest official events on the Main Website.

Please see the complete R33 Instructions and updates notes on the main website!

Final Lot Selection Group Claims Tonight!

15 likes

Group 91 is the last group in the lot selection process with over a thousands backers ready to hunt down and grab their preferred lot in-game! The last major mad dash to claim a piece of New Britannia begins tonight, August 24 at 3AM CDT (08:00 UTC). 

In celebration of the lot selection process and end of pledge expirations, we ran a 12-hour telethon event on August 22 from Noon to Midnight, successfully reaching $200k for the telethon and over $10 Million for the overall funding of Shroud of the Avatar to-date!

The entire team thanks each and every one of you for making this project possible. Your contributions have gone into making a game that all fans can enjoy. Our efforts continue with Release 33 and beyond!

Weekly Lot Selection Report – Developer, Navigator, and Ancestor Groups

6 likes

Lot Selection passes the half way mark and continues to see more lots each day placed in New Britannia! This is your group-by-group weekly update on which pledge tiers have already claimed lots, and which groups are about to be able to secure a lot yet this week.

Check out the list below to see if your group is coming up!

Interested in upgrading your pledge to claim sooner? You can! Just go to your Account settings and click on the Pledges menu tab.

NEW GROUPS SELECTING LOTS THIS WEEK

DEVELOPER – Groups 64-72: 

Royal Founder – Group 64: August 16 at 03:00 CDT (08:00 UTC)

Royal Founder – Group 65: August 16 at 08:00 CDT (13:00 UTC)

Royal Founder – Group 66: August 16 at 13:00 CDT (18:00 UTC)

Founder – Group 67: August 16 at 18:00 CDT (23:00 UTC)

Founder – Group 68: August 16 at 23:00 CDT (August 17 at 04:00 UTC)

Founder – Group 69: August 17 at 04:00 CDT (09:00 UTC)

Benefactor – Group 70: August 17 at 09:00 CDT (14:00 UTC)

Benefactor – Group 71: August 17 at 14:00 CDT (19:00 UTC)

Benefactor – Group 72: August 17 at 19:00 CDT (August 18 at 00:00 UTC)

NAVIGATOR- Groups 73-81:

Royal Founder – Group 73: August 18 at 19:00 CDT (August 19 at 00:00 UTC)

Royal Founder – Group 74: August 19 at 00:00 CDT (05:00 UTC)

Royal Founder – Group 75: August 19 at 05:00 CDT (10:00 UTC)

Founder – Group 76: August 19 at 10:00 CDT (15:00 UTC)

Founder – Group 77: August 19 at 15:00 CDT (20:00 UTC)

Founder – Group 78: August 19 at 20:00 CDT (August 20 at 01:00 UTC)

Benefactor – Group 79: August 20 at 01:00 CDT (06:00 UTC)

Benefactor – Group 80: August 20 at 06:00 CDT (11:00 UTC)

Benefactor – Group 81: August 20 at 11:00 CDT (16:00 UTC)

ANCESTOR – Groups 82-84:

Royal Founder – Group 82: August 21 at 11:00 CDT (16:00 UTC)

Royal Founder – Group 83: August 21 at 16:00 CDT (21:00 UTC)

Royal Founder – Group 84: August 21 at 21:00 CDT (August 22 at 02:00 UTC) 

More group times are listed in the Lot Selection announcement on the main website. The last group will be Group 91 on August 24 at 03:00 CDT (08:00 UTC). After all group times have passed, anyone will have a chance to place a lot.

To get daily lot selection updates, follow the game on Twitter at www.twitter.com/shroudofavatar, or keep the above Lot Selection announcement bookmarked for easy access!