Project image
)}
£1,123
pledged of £1,000pledged of £1,000 goal
96
backers
13days to go

All or nothing. This project will only be funded if it reaches its goal by Sat, November 30 2019 9:03 PM UTC +00:00.

Flux #1

A sci-fi thriller comic about the threat of time travel, government issue wearable tech and one detective’s search for the truth.

Flux #1

A sci-fi thriller comic about the threat of time travel, government issue wearable tech and one detective’s search for the truth.

£1,123
pledged of £1,000pledged of £1,000 goal
96
backers
13days to go

All or nothing. This project will only be funded if it reaches its goal by Sat, November 30 2019 9:03 PM UTC +00:00.

About

What is Flux?

Flux Issue #1 is a 22-page full-colour comic. The series is a 4 issue mini. It's an SF thriller which involves time travel. 

Where did Flux come from?

Flux is an idea that had been rolling around Steve's head for a few years. He'd tried to get it to work but something was missing. The X-factor was Pete! When the two of them put their heads together everything clicked into place. 

What's it about? 

In 1973 US government scientists invented time travel. The technology was leaked and Time Terrorists began remaking the present by unravelling the past.

To fix this a new branch of government, Purity Control (PC), was created. Their Timeband technology protects an individual’s timeline from being altered. By law, everyone is required to wear one from the moment of birth to death.

As a result of this threat technology worldwide has been stunted, putting it on par with the 1980s. The story takes place in the present day on the eve of PC releasing Squid, a customisable version of their wearable tech. As unexplained events start to happen, Chicago Detective Sarah Ramirez starts to question everything around her.

 Who are the main characters? 

Detective Sarah Ramirez followed in her father’s footsteps by becoming a homicide detective. She’s driven and tenacious, more than willing to bend the rules in her search for the truth.

Detective Mike McKinney has been Sarah’s partner and mentor since she became a detective. He’s coming to the end of a long career and is struggling to keep his partner out of trouble.

Arthur Buchanan is the spokesman for Purity Control. For the last 40 years his job has been to remind the public why they need to wear their Timeband. He's embarking on a final speaking tour, before his retirement.

How much of Flux is done?

Issue #1 of Flux is finished and ready to go. If you back this Kickstarter you'll be helping us to print this book, but also, more importantly, contribute towards the cost of Issue 2. We need to pay a colourist, letterer, cover artist. The 22 interior pages are done. If Issue #1 is successful, we'll be launching Issue #2 in early 2020 (maybe March).

What are people saying about Flux? 

"Smartly using the familiar framing of a police procedural, Flux introduces us to a world like our own but with a serious twist; Time Travel is REAL. Time Terrorism is real. Echoing the best of Fringe and the X-Files the team takes us in a world we only think we understand. Fantastic." Mike Collins, Storyboard artist on Doctor Who, Good Omens, His Dark Materials and Discovery of Witches.

"With clear, taut storytelling and a captivating "what-if?" premise, Flux grips you from the first panel and doesn't let go." Nicole Boose, former editor at Marvel and Millarworld. 

"Fantastic ideas, crisp execution, definitely jump in on this great new comic!" Ryan K Lindsay, writer, Eternal, Negative Space. 

"An intriguing take on time travel. Aryan and Rogers hook you quickly with a compelling mystery — I can't wait to see how it unravels!" Jim Gibbons, multiple Eisner and Harvey Award-winning editor for his work on Dark Horse Presents. 

„A dark sci-fi crime thriller about time traveling that doesn’t waste any time and pulls you in from the first page. I can’t wait to see where this goes.“ Viktor Bogdanovic, artist, New Super-Man, Batman: Arkham Knight. 

"An ongoing, complex mystery, FLUX shows readers a twisted version of today where time travel terrorism and casual homicide have become a terrifying norm. Fans of Looper and Blade Runner will feel right at home in the world Rogers, Aryan, & Barza have created." Sterling Gates, writer/producer, The Flash.

"In 1973 the US Government invented time travel, now everyone has to wear Timeband technology to protect their own timelines being attacked. How do you police that? FLUX puts you behind the wheel of the cop car in a world that's unraveling moment by moment."  Rob Williams, writer, Judge Dredd, Suicide Squad.

Who is the creative team?

Rogers, Aryan and Barza

Pete Rogers is the writer of comics The Interactives and The Intergalactic Adventures of Zakk Ridley for Markosia. He founded and self-published the Eagle award-nominated anthology series Eleventh Hour, and has written stories for Gutter Magix, Unseen Shadows and Torsobear. You can watch short film Packaged, which he also wrote here.  

Stephen Aryan is the award-winning fantasy author of the Age of Darkness trilogy (Battlemage, Bloodmage,  Chaosmage) and the Age of Dread trilogy (Mageborn, Magefall, Magebane) published by Orbit books. He's previously written a comic book column for Tor.com, self-published comics and done work for hire comics.

Pete and Steve also co-host an action movie podcast together, called Bags of Action.

Maysam Barza has pencilled, inked and coloured Flux Issue 1 and painted the cover. His previous work includes Fubar: American History X. 

Sean Rinehart provides lettering and pre-press. He has worked on a number of indie comic titles, including Tales of the Damned for Zero Press and Robots v Princesses for Dynamite Comics.

The Flux logo was designed by award-winning designer Paul Nicholas, the Atlas Stone logo and our Kickstarter video were created by designer Zach F Evans.

Risks and challenges

Issue 1 is complete (we also have inked pages for all of Issue 2 and most of Issue 3)

The only potential delay would be on the physical version if there are any printing problems. That shouldn't be the case as both writers have self-published previously.

Learn about accountability on Kickstarter
Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support

  1. Make a pledge without a reward

    £
    About $13

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge £4 or more About $6

    Time Cop

    A digital copy of Issue 1 of Flux.

    Includes:
    • PDF copy of Issue 1 of Flux
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    12 backers
    £
    About $6

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge £5 or more About US$ 7

    Source Code

    Special Edition extended digital copy of Issue 1 (includes sketches, alternate cover sketches, character designs)

    Includes:
    • Special Edition PDF copy of Issue 1 of Flux
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    10 backers
    £
    About US$ 7

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge £6 or more About US$ 8

    12 Monkeys

    Get your hands on a physical copy of Issue 1 of Flux.

    Includes:
    • Physical copy of Issue 1 of Flux
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    32 backers
    £
    About US$ 8

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge £8 or more About US$ 11

    Looper

    Print? Or Digital? Get both with this digital and physical bundle that combines Source Code and 12 Monkeys rewards.

    Includes:
    • Physical copy of Issue 1 of Flux
    • Special Edition PDF copy of Issue 1 of Flux
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    20 backers
    £
    About US$ 11

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Select this reward

    Pledge £20 or more About US$ 26

    Back to the Future

    All of the above, plus preview pages from Issue 2, an alternate scene from Issue 1 and an audio commentary from the creators. This is the ultimate insight into the world of Flux.

    Includes:
    • Physical copy of Issue 1 of Flux
    • Special Edition PDF copy of Issue 1 of Flux
    • PDF copy of the Issue 1 script
    • PDF preview of Issue 2
    • Fully completed alternate scene from Issue 1 (Director's Cut)
    • Exclusive audio commentary from Pete Rogers & Steve Aryan
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    20 backers
    £
    About US$ 26

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.