Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
Get a short story of your very own...starring you! Or be a character in my new Steampunk Romance novel! Great rewards for your pledge.
Get a short story of your very own...starring you! Or be a character in my new Steampunk Romance novel! Great rewards for your pledge.
77 backers pledged $4,417 to help bring this project to life.

About this project

Blood, Sex, & Cogs: Steamy Steampunk & More project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound

$4,417

77

My name is Olivia Grey, and I'm an author of Steampunk Romance, as well as a poet, blogger, and podcaster. My first novel, Avalon Revisited, is an Amazon Gothic Romance bestseller. My second novel, a YA Steampunk Romance called The Zombies of Mesmer, has only been available on Kindle up until now, but I'm very anxious to change that. 

The cost of publishing print books is unfortunately quite high, and so I'm requesting the patronage of readers to help offset those costs for the printing of The Zombies of Mesmer as well as the printing of my forthcoming anthology Caught in the Cogs (December 2011 release), which will consist of several short stories, poetry, and a selection of relationship essays. Publishing costs consist of hiring a cover artist, professional editor, layout costs, setup costs, and printing/shipping costs. 

This kickstarter campaign is to raise money to print the two above titles, a third as yet untitled WIP "new novel" to be released early 2012 (unless NY picks it up!), and to buy a new podcasting microphone/headphones for higher quality podcast recording.

Please listen to my podcasts over at http://omgrey.wordpress.com and comment on the blog posts. I do so love to chat with readers throughout the week.

By donating funds to these projects you will not only get a chance to receive one or more of these titles before they are available to the general public (and signed by me), but you also have the opportunity to be a part of the creation itself if you choose to have a short story written based on you or become a character in the new WIP novel.

If I surpass my project goal, the remaining funds will assist in travel and lodging to the many Steampunk Events I have planned next year, bringing me closer to my readers and meeting new ones. So far I am confirmed as a literary guest at HRM Steampunk Symposium and Clockwork Con in January 2012, TempleCon in February, Anomaly Con in March, and Aetherfest in May. I plan to also return to the Steampunk World's Fair in NJ as well as make an appearance at World Steam Expo in MI. There are over twenty Steampunk conventions in 2012, and it is my goal to attend as many as will have me. Hope to see you there!

If you are new to the term STEAMPUNK, please learn more about this beautiful aesthetic at Wikipedia. I write "Steamy" Steampunk with a twist of the paranormal.

This campaign ends on my birthday, and I can think of no better gift than the support from my fabulous readers. 

About the books:

AVALON REVISITED:

Arthur Tudor has made his existence as a vampire bearable for over three hundred years by immersing himself in blood and debauchery. Aboard an airship gala, he meets Avalon, an aspiring vampire slayer who sparks fire into Arthur’s shriveled heart. Together they try to solve the mystery of several horrendous murders on the dark streets of London. Cultures clash and pressures rise in this sexy Steampunk Romance. Contains adult content.

From Blue Moose Press

THE ZOMBIES OF MESMER:

The Zombies of Mesmer is a Gothic YA paranormal romance novel set in Victorian London. Follow Nicole Knickerbocker Hawthorn (Nickie Nick) as she discovers her destiny as The Protector, a powerful vampire hunter. Ashe, a dark and mysterious stranger, helps Nickie and her friends solve the mystery behind several bizarre disappearances. With Steampunk gadgets, mad scientists, bloodthirsty vampires, and mesmerized zombies, this paranormal adventure is sure to appeal to fans of Boneshaker, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and the Vampire Diaries.

Appropriate for Teens and Adults.

Published Short Fiction:

“Dead Mule Crossing”

Available through the How the West Was Wicked anthology by Pill Hill Press.

Full of excellent short stories by a group of authors. O. M. Grey’s contribution, “Dead Mule Crossing” is about a group of lustful thieves seek out a town of women to satisfy their urges, but the women have the final word.

“Zeppelin Dreams”

A woman steals away to fulfill her desire with a phantom lover.

O. M. Grey gives readers another tragic love short story. Plus this one has the steamy gothic sex of her novel AVALON REVISITED.

“Of Aether and Aeon”

In the midst of war, a beautiful young officer finds love aboard an airship.

The author of the critically acclaimed novel AVALON REVISITED, O. M. Grey takes the reader on a Steampunk journey through romance and tragedy.

Links to purchase these and more on the OMGREY.wordpress.com site. 

FREE SHORT FICTION:

FAQ

Have a question? If the info above doesn't help, you can ask the project creator directly.

Ask a question

Support this project

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge $10 or more About $10

    Tesla's Choice: eBook of choice between AVALON REVISITED, THE ZOMBIES OF MESMER, or CAUGHT IN THE COGS Anthology, in choice of format via Smashwords

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    5 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge $15 or more About $15

    The Ragamuffin Bundle: Signed Limited Edition Thank You postcard + Signed book, choice between AVALON REVISITED, THE ZOMBIES of MESMER, or CAUGHT IN THE COGS Anthology

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    33 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge $30 or more About $30

    The Lady's Purse: A personal phone call from the author expressing her gratitude + The Ragamuffin Bundle above

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    7 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge $50 or more About $50

    Lady Grey's Private Library: a signed copy of each AVALON REVISITED, THE ZOMBIES of MESMER, and CAUGHT IN THE COGS Anthology + LE Signed Thank You Post Card.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    15 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge $100 or more About $100

    The Gentleman's Briefcase: Mention in the Acknowledgments of the Anthology + "Lady Grey's Private Library" reward above

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Limited 2 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Reward no longer available

    Pledge $200 or more About $200

    The Gold Pocket Watch: Mention in the Acknowledgments of the Anthology. Plus, I will write a short story with the protagonist named after you. Your short story will be perfect bound and delivered directly to you with a special dedication in the front. In addition to this, you will also receive Lady Grey's Private Library

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Reward no longer available 4 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  7. Select this reward

    Pledge $250 or more About $250

    The Time Machine: a dedication to you at the front of the new novel + The Gold Pocket Watch

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Limited 1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  8. Select this reward

    Pledge $500 or more About $500

    The Pearl Cameo: Cameo appearance of a character based on and named after you in the new novel + Lady Grey's Private Library

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Limited 1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  9. Select this reward

    Pledge $1,000 or more About $1,000

    The Airship Jet Pack: Fully developed character in new novel named after you + Lady Grey's Private Library

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Limited 1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  10. Select this reward

    Pledge $2,500 or more About $2,500

    The Adventurer's Satchel: Private Party with O. M. Grey for up to 30 people. Private reading, signed copies of books (choice of one book per attendee of either AVALON REVISITED, THE ZOMBIES OF MESMER, or CAUGHT IN THE COGS Anth.). Ms. Grey will fly out to your town and be your special guest for an evening of tea and literary debauchery. PLUS The Airship Jet Pack...

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Limited 0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (39 days)