Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
Supporting this project funds the publication of a unique, gold leaf illuminated tarot deck illustrated by Matt Hughes.
Supporting this project funds the publication of a unique, gold leaf illuminated tarot deck illustrated by Matt Hughes.
Supporting this project funds the publication of a unique, gold leaf illuminated tarot deck illustrated by Matt Hughes.
544 backers pledged $30,957 to help bring this project to life.

Use this space to cheer the creator along, and talk to your fellow backers.

Have a question?

Only backers can post comments. Log In
    1. Jayde Hilliard 7 days ago

      Sorry to be a bother, I know these things take time and things happen. Any update on the rest of the decks being sent out? I have not yet received mine, either.

    2. T on

      I haven't received a deck either unfortunately.

    3. Missing avatar

      greg turner on

      Hi Matt, sorry to bug you but I’m still waiting for print and deck.

    4. Reinik
      Superbacker
      on

      Hi, I still have not received my deck yet.

    5. Missing avatar

      Dandelion on

      Matt, I received my wonderful tarot in the mail yesterday! Thank you so much for your quick response to my concerns here and also the immediate shipping of my deck! I was starting to panic regarding the campaign’s mail delivery nightmare with the contractors. I can’t imagine the stress you have had with this matter! (both shippers & backers) When I have communicated with you DM, you have been nothing but polite and professional during this learning experience. It is both refreshing and appreciated. Hang in there, buddy! Lol

    6. Matt Hughes 6-time creator on

      @ Do-Hyun Weaver - You were sent a replacement deck. Thanks

    7. Matt Hughes 6-time creator on

      @ Trena Labowski - Your deck was delivered. Thanks

    8. Matt Hughes 6-time creator on

      @ Lisa - You were sent a replacement deck. Thanks

    9. Matt Hughes 6-time creator on

      @ Dandelion - You were sent a replacement deck. Thanks

    10. Matt Hughes 6-time creator on

      @ Giancarlo Kind Schmid - You were sent a replacement deck. Thanks

    11. Luke Earl on

      I don't think creators get notified if a comment's added here. Maybe try messaging Matt directly for a response.

    12. Giancarlo Kind Schmid on

      Hello! I have not received my deck yet and I'm afraid I will not receive it. I live in Brazil and everything complicates more.

    13. Missing avatar

      Dandelion on

      Still haven’t received my deck yet! 🤷‍♀️ Yikes! 😬

    14. LB on

      Still waiting too...

    15. Missing avatar

      Lisa on

      Hiya!
      I too am deckless. What are next steps?
      Thanks!

    16. Alix Rovi on

      I didn't receive it either.
      Matt doesn't even care about us !!!

    17. Trena Labowski on

      Perhaps my message got overlooked? I am commenting on behalf of my sister. She did not receive her deck and I am afraid with all the updates and comments, I am confused as to what we are to do now. What are we supposed to do? Or do we just request a refund? Thank you .

    18. Missing avatar

      Do-Hyun Weaver on

      I am still waiting for my deck.. no response from mailers either.. ugh..

    19. E C on

      I just got mine by USPS - and I can see evidence of pakmail's incompetence. Kudos to Matt for getting these out anyway.

    20. Missing avatar

      Kritsada Poolwan on

      Please check I am in list of your shipping. I have not received my decks.

    21. Reinik
      Superbacker
      on

      I'm at the card deck tier and still haven't received my deck. I emailed PakMail over a month ago and never got any reply back, and I sent another email just now.

    22. Missing avatar

      Shelby Morris on

      Did anyone at the exclusive poster tier get it? I didn’t receive mine. :(

    23. surasak boonyachai on

      please check my name is on your shipping list. Thanks

    24. Missing avatar

      Johanna Berliner on

      I emailed PakMail on 4/27 with my info/address/etc and never received a response...sadly still waiting on my deck :( I'm submitting another request via their contact form now, hopefully will get somewhere!

    25. E C on

      Thanks for the message, Matt :)

    26. Yvonne Peraza on

      I received my deck! Yay! I can see why some decks were returned. The mailing label had only two letters of my last name. Thank goodness my address was correct.

    27. Missing avatar

      Lee Dongwook on

      I asked pakmail my tracking number and they said that they have no name of mine on the send list.
      They showed me the list and there was no sending to Korea.
      Please check it out and send the package to me!

    28. Missing avatar

      Nicky on

      I received my deck yesterday. Absolutely beautiful.

    29. E C on

      Matt - those of us who have been told to contact you could use some feedback here.

    30. Suhendri Suhendri on

      Still no deck and no reply from Pak Mail

    31. E C on

      OK and now I have another response from them, when I said this is my address so please send tracking - again saying "please contact your seller" - so there is no more I can do here :( Please help me out here, Matt.

    32. E C on

      Sadly I have received a note that my deck was not shipped because my address was not complete (which it is on the survey but is an utter mess on the rubbish "invoice" they sent me.) and that you, Matt, have "been informed". Please follow this up for me

    33. Kym Schow on

      So an update for me! After I emailed them on April 30th, I finally received a response and tracking number for my deck yesterday. The tracking number is valid and it shows I should be receiving it on Thursday, so hopefully this means things are getting resolved. I'll update my received status as soon as I get mine.

    34. Diane Wilkes on

      I finally received my deck. It is amazing and beautiful. The process getting it was aggravating, but the deck is such an accomplishment and treasure that my aggravation seems less important.

    35. Marco C. Garcia
      Superbacker
      on

      Finally received my deck a couple days ago.
      I have to say, this whole shipping debacle has been a trainwreck, I feel sorry for the project creator.
      Having said that I have to point out that the deck was packaged very poorly and as a result of that it arrived with a damaged case.
      This wouldn't be a big deal if not for the fact that the cost of the deck, shipping included, was over 50 dollars.
      I understand this isn't the creator's fault but it still stings, given the long delay and the cost.
      Unfortunately I have to point out another issue I have with the deck that, frankly, I'm surprised no one has noticed yet.
      I really dislike the choice of embedding "©Matt Hughes" in the back design of the cards.
      I can understand the reasoning when you're embedding the artwork online, art theft is rampant on the web, I cannot however justify ruining the actual physical object itself just to put a copyright notice.
      This especially bothers me for two reasons: this choice was never made apparent in the project page nor in the updates relating to the back design (yes, there was a copyright notice on the image itself but it wasn't actually embedded in the artwork, leading me to assume that it wasn't going to be left in, just like it wasn't for the rest of the artwork) and, more importantly, this didn't happen with any other artwork present on the cards.
      I really don't understand why the creator chose to put a copyright notice instead of his signature, like he did on the front designs.
      It's a real shame because other than that the cards are beautiful, and I'm really looking forward to more decks by the artist, I just hope next time oversights (in my opinion) like these can be avoided.

    36. Suhendri Suhendri on

      Where is my rewards? I do not received yet.

    37. Missing avatar

      laura on

      This deck is gorgeous!! Matt has been very kind and my experience with the shipping issues was handled perfectly. Kickstarter is not a store, the artist in most cases is only 1 person with a small support system of friends and family in some cases. And what the artist does with their project is none of my business as long as I received the product i backed, and “backed” being the key word here, I am happy. When people invested in Apple they were not millionaires the next day, not even a few years later. Point is when you invest or in kickstarters term “back” you are investing in a product and the process and sometimes the process does not go smooth. I was backer #1 and was affected by the shipping issue, I contacted Matt and the issue was resolved. It was not fast but again, he is not a huge company with departments of staff helping him.
      It’s a process.
      Thank you Matt, I appreciate the work you have done and the effort you have put into this campaign.

    38. Missing avatar

      Adamthered
      Superbacker
      on

      This deck is freaking awesome and beautiful! The art is amazing and the gold foil adds a really cool depth. I love them.

      I feel bad for the amount of push back the creator got on this project. The creator kept us all updated and was straightforward when it came to explaining delays. I hate to admit but I was part of the problem. I recently moved and didn’t contact the creator to change my address in time. My deck was returned and Matt contacted me immediately to ship them back out. I truly appreciate Matt and his team doing that.

      Thanks a lot for a great Kickstarter!!

    39. TenChiGin
      Superbacker
      on

      Received my deck in the UK today.

      . . . My only disappointment was at being backer #36 and receiving deck #557.

    40. Missing avatar

      Anna McGowan on

      Received my deck today. Absolutely stunning. I can see how much effort has been put into this project. Thrilled to finally have them and well worth the wait. Thank you so much ❤

    41. Missing avatar

      Rachel James on

      I posted a comment on here a few days ago, and I don't see it anymore. I am concerned. Is there anyway to confirm addresses? I can forward the Kickstarter email showing my address if that's helpful. Otherwise, can you let us know refund process? I am getting concerned.

    42. Missing avatar

      Rachel James on

      Hi can you please verify shipping? Otherwise if you are no longer filling orders can you explain how we get a refund? I have an email confirmation with the correct address from a long time ago, but I haven't received anything. My address is pretty straightforward. Big city. Secure delivery. No problems getting packages. If you are out of decks, are you issuing refunds soon? This is the only Kickstarter campaign I have ever backed.

    43. John H. Halpern, M.D.
      Superbacker
      on

      As someone who has backed A LOT of Kickstarter campaigns, I know this campaign was and IS well run. ++++1 to add my voice to the supportive comments below and in praise of this tarot deck and the Creator.

      Campaigns that support a single artist are fundamentally “different” than a huge technology project for a new gizmo. Complaints about delay are totally absurd: 6 months delay? 9 months? WHATEVER! Don’t you want the very best that can be achieved? Isn’t delay for that reason 100% in harmony with why you backed the campaign to begin with??

      Kickstarter isn’t a store (blah, blah, blah...). I’m sure everyone knows that. But what then IS Kickstarter? Crowdsourcing allows creators to realize their dream to bring something new into this world. We, as backers, get to be part of that process and, yes, get access to products early and sometimes at a great discount and also though with the risk for delays and even complete loss of our money. We also get to interact directly with the creator. I see anger as justified when fraud clearly is afoot and/or the creator just disappears without any communication at all. That’s never been the case here.

      Let’s keep our Kickstarter community a happier place. If the Creator is communicating and explains why there are delays then, yes, please remain supportive. If you can’t handle that then stop backing campaigns. Also I do strongly recommend to those who flip out to stop posting that stupid line of “I invoke my rights” crap from an out of date 2012 terms of service that has since been replaced. Even so... there never has been a need for any backer to post such a statement and all it really does is show everybody else that you are clueless about Kickstarter and are likely a troll.

      I already got my decks- I was an early backer. The quality is incredible. The deck is so very beautiful; it’s a treasure that will only see occasional use for special readings. Nice to hear from another backer grouching there will be a mass produced deck on the way...

      If you love Art Deco or even seek a deck free of dark colors and far from that Alastair Crowley deck, then this is for you! The art has so much to offer in each card and especially as you see how themes are built and revealed.

      The wait is worth it. Truly.

    44. Kat Genser on

      Such a high quality and beautiful tarot deck. Thank you! ♡

    45. William
      Superbacker
      on

      he = be more pleased

      Argh phone typing fumble. 🙇‍♂️

    46. William
      Superbacker
      on

      This deck is so beautiful. I've been eagerly anticipating having it in hand and I couldn't he more pleased.

      I can't wait to see more of your work! Superb.

    47. Missing avatar

      Jennifer Timpo on

      Hi Matt! my deck arrived yesterday and it is everything I hoped for and more. Thank you for all the hard work it took for you to create this deck. I am an artist too and I know how much mental and creative work this had to have taken for you. Great job. Thank you again!

    48. Matt Hughes 6-time creator on

      @ Shady Canary - Thank you for that! I am SO glad you like the deck and I GREATLY appreciate the support and patience :-)

    49. Shady Canary on

      Matt - This deck is the most beautiful and elegant deck I've ever held, let alone owned. Thank you so much for all of your hard work and the time and care you've taken in delivering this high-quality product. I'm sorry so many people are being so hateful to you - apparently, they must not understand how Kickstarter works. I've backed many a thing through Kickstarter and you are not alone in taking longer than the estimates. Keep being awesome <3

    50. Missing avatar

      Jessica Sawchuk on

      From my perspective, unhappy folks who assume the worst go in like vultures for the kill, and demand instant responses and start name calling and sarcasm and threats. Thats alot to take. Its overwhelming, and exhausting. I re read the very clear update that was written. The post office screwed up. Which is why they are still waiting for tracking numbers. That happens, alot. Matt and his wife are now in a legal process to figure it out. Some addresses were wrong. To be expected. Give them a chance to fix it. He explained everything. It doesn’t seem to me that there is any subterfuge.
      There are two people behind the scenes managing this process. Its alot. If he wasn’t updating and if many people weren’t pleased with what they got, I suppose you’d have a point. Perhaps look a little closer at how you approach these individuals and consider the magnitude of the job.
      And I must ask:
      What would be the point of these hard working artists trying to screw you over?

      Nothing like that is happening. Give them a break. They are human beings. All of this panic seems unwarranted. I stand firmly by what I said. So you waited longer. You waited longer for a hard working artist to HAND DRAW an elaborate deck of cards and then painstakingly search for the right printer to get the job done right- not mediocre. To get the job done right for YOU.
      It will be OK. Be nice. Be decent. Back off of these people, they are doing the best they can. Geez folks, the world is crazy. Why are you all ganging up on other people? Its not going to change the situation. Please stop.

Show older comments