Project image
)}
$1,290
pledged of $5,000pledged of $5,000 goal
32
backers
Funding Unsuccessful
The project's funding goal was not reached on Mon, June 14 2010 4:00 PM UTC +00:00
$1,290
pledged of $5,000pledged of $5,000 goal
32
backers
Funding Unsuccessful
The project's funding goal was not reached on Mon, June 14 2010 4:00 PM UTC +00:00

About

COAHSI is going to present the FIRST EVER contemporary video art festival to take place in Staten Island. With this FREE festival, LUMEN, COAHSI will transform the "forgotten borough" of New York City into a media playground.

LUMEN is a cutting-edge video art and projection festival featuring site-specific video installations, 3D-video technology, sound-based performances, and art interventions by artists around the globe. Featuring work by emerging Staten Island artists, as well as established video, new media, projection, and animation artists from New York City and beyond, LUMEN will highlight a diversity of artists at the forefront of their media in an industrial landscape on Staten Island’s waterfront.

Your donations will help increase COAHSI's capacity to present work at Atlantic Salt. With views of Lower Manhattan and New Jersey, the raw industrial setting of Atlantic Salt is the ideal location for showcasing recent developments in new media art. With your help, COAHSI will be able to rent and purchase the necessary equipment to present a professional video art festival. We have already rented the projector, screen and sound for the main stage, but a large portion of the festival will also take place in shipping containers, and each of those containers needs at least one dedicated projector. Donated funds will also help purchase the electrical equipment needed to transform this outdoor space into a professional venue for video projections.

Participating artists and collectives to date include: Alex Villar http://www.de-tour.org/, Sean Capone http://www.seancapone.com/, Alix Pearlstein http://www.alixpearlstein.com/, Lena Thüring http://www.lenathuering.net/, Tattfoo Tan http://www.tattfoo.com/, Grace Exhibition Space http://www.grace-exhibition-space.com/, Katja Loher http://www.katjaloher.com/, Ali Hossaini, Ph.D. http://www.artlab.tv/, Flux Factory http://www.fluxfactory.org/, Allison Berkoy http://cargocollective.com/berkoy/, David Politzer http://davideology.com/, Birgit Rathsmann http://vimeo.com/user1924457/videos/sort:date, Steven Lapcevic www.anomalyville.com, Brendan Coyle http://www.coylecavern.com/, Mikhael Antone http://www.mikhaelantone.com/, Mandy Morrison http://www.mandymachine.com/, Don Porcella http://www.donporcella.blogspot.com/, Nia Burks http://www.niaburks.com/, Jennida Chase http://www.jennidachase.com/, Lisa Dahl http://lisadahlstudio.com/, Nicholas Fevelo http://www.nicholasfevelo.com/, DB Lampman http://www.dblampman.com/, Paul Moakley http://www.paulmoakley.com/, Laura Napier http://www.lauranapier.com/, Hassan Pitts http://www.hassanpitts.com/Home.html, hzCollective http://hzcollective.blogspot.com/, Rob Ludacer http://www.robludacerart.com/, Mike Shane http://www.mikeshanephotography.com/c/mikeshanephotography, Scott Peehl http://www.videopainting.net/, MWF Video Club http://www.brickhaus.com/amoore/orig-index.html, Maria Elvira Dieppa http://www.youtube.com/dieppame, and Jay Weichun.

LUMEN will take place from 4pm-12am on Saturday, June 26th at 561 Richmond Terrace, Staten Island, NY, with a sponsored tasting by Brooklyn Brewery from 9pm-11pm. For more information, visit www.lumenfest.org, or contact Ginger Shulick at 718.447.3329, gshulick@statenislandarts.org.

Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge $5 or more About $5

    Eternal gratitude, and listing on LUMEN website

    Less
    4 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge $10 or more About $10

    All of the above, plus a personal thank you note

    Less
    10 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge $50 or more About $50

    All of the above, plus a limited-edition artist tote bag and 2-year subscription to COAHSI's quarterly arts newspaper

    Less
    5 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge $100 or more About $100

    All of the above, plus the tote bag will be filled with goodies, including a COAHSI t-shirt, COAHSI temporary tattoos, postcards, 2 tickets to LUMEN VIP pre-party, and a limited-edition print by featured artist Steven Lapcevic

    Less
    3 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge $250 or more About $250

    All of the above, plus a compilation of featured artists' DVDs

    Less
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Select this reward

    Pledge $500 or more About $500

    All of the above, plus a limited-edition print by featured artist Alex Villar

    Less
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  7. Select this reward

    Pledge $1,000 or more About $1,000

    All of the above, plus a personal, behind-the-scenes tour of key Staten Island cultural sites and artist studios for you and three friends, lunch included

    Less
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (47 days)