Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
The comic strip transports you to a top-secret world of ingenious scientists, aliens, and a genetically-engineered bee and dinosaur.
The comic strip transports you to a top-secret world of ingenious scientists, aliens, and a genetically-engineered bee and dinosaur.
The comic strip transports you to a top-secret world of ingenious scientists, aliens, and a genetically-engineered bee and dinosaur.
57 backers pledged $1,823 to help bring this project to life.

About

Lost Cactus - The First Treasury: A Classic Comic Adventure project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound

Lost Cactus - The First Treasury: A Classic Comic Adventure

$1,823

57

Lost Cactus - The First Treasury is a colorful anthology of comics and short stories written and illustrated by me, (John Hopkins :D) and published in 196-page, full-color print, interactive iBooks, and Kindle formats.

The purpose of this campaign is to raise funds to print and produce The First Treasury as well as to continue writing and drawing the sequel. But most importantly, it’s to introduce the Lost Cactus Expanded Universe to all of you! Are you ready to make the leap into this hilarious yet thought-provoking world? Read on to discover what Lost Cactus is all about and the fantastic rewards I have to offer all of my Kickstarter backers.

Early Praise for Lost Cactus - The First Treasury

“A ‘must’ for the legions of Lost Cactus fans...will prove to be an effective introduction for anyone new to the strip.”The Midwest Book Review

“Took me back to my youthful years when I enjoyed the Far Side! Hilarious, smart and funny! If you enjoy smart comics with intelligence & great humor, this is it!” — Philip Song, Entrepreneur

“The characters are fun and the drawings wonderful. And it's not just comics—there are short stories as well, so it makes for a great variety. Fans of Calvin and Hobbes and Foxtrot should enjoy this.” — Carrie Rubin, Author of Eating Bull and The Seneca Scourge

“a beautifully designed book...a refreshing pleasure to read.” — Susan, Goodreads

“a lovely light-hearted comic.” — Natasha, Goodreads

“This book was vibrant, animated, and adventurous. I read this book with my little sister and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. 5/5 would recommend to anyone.” — Kate, Goodreads

Here is a short preview of the first few pages of comics from Lost Cactus - The First Treasury:

 

 

 

 

What is the Lost Cactus Comic Strip about?

Lost Cactus is satire for our conspiracy and paranormal-obsessed times in classic 3-panel comic strips. At its nucleus are the characters Bentley the Bee, Ty the Dinosaur, Sammy the Squirrel, and Cato the Alien. Together they inhabit "Lost Cactus"—the top-secret base set against a colorful desert landscape. They create havoc in the ultra-secret laboratories, perform risky stunts, discover hidden treasures, and encounter a variety of politicians, celebrities, aliens and mutants from Earth and beyond. The Lost Cactus comic strip anthology—with a shared universe of stories and essays—is for anyone, of any age, looking for a laugh-out-loud and original new addiction.

A Brief History of Lost Cactus

The highly classified base code-named “Lost Cactus” first broke ground way back in 1947 on a far-flung parcel of government land in the parched American Southwestern desert. However, by the early 1950s, it was unceremoniously purged from all public records, mothballed and abandoned to rot in the sweltering sun. Only the lizards and ground squirrels were left behind to shelter beneath its decrepit facades. But that's just what the shadowy government agency—which has continued to operate there to this day—wants everyone to believe. Today, if you stumble onto "Lost Cactus," you’ll spy the National Laboratory building, situated within an expansive complex of dilapidated hangars, crumbling outbuildings, and rusted warehouses. You’ll meet the comic strip cast along with ever-present lab rats, staggering clone zombies, animated cacti, loquacious birds and lizards, self-important celebrities, and of course, nosy politicians.

Why I'm Here on Kickstarter

I’m here to introduce myself and Lost Cactus to fans of comic strips and the sci-fi genre. I need your help to ensure that the Lost Cactus universe continues for years to come. My long-term plans include more comic strip anthologies, games, merchandise, graphic novels, and even an animated series. That’s why I’m here on Kickstarter, it’s an excellent way to promote my books, but it’s also an opportunity to fund my comic strip endeavors so that I can complete my second book on schedule—and then move forward on all of my future Lost Cactus projects. Stay tuned as there is a lot more on the way since Lost Cactus is such a goldmine of story lines and ideas.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks and happy reading!

Risks and challenges

My biggest challenge is that there aren’t enough hours in the day. Perhaps this is how Walt Disney felt before he had the means to hire a studio full of artists and writers to fulfill his vision. While I’ve been busily drawing the comic strips and writing the stories and essays for my First—and now onto my Second Treasuries—I've also maintained my full-time graphic design business. My ultimate goal? To focus solely on my Lost Cactus comic strip universe so I can continue to delight and entertain my fans.

Learn about accountability on Kickstarter

Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge $1 or more About $1.00

    SAMMY THE SQUIRREL ACORN STASH

    Sammy hoards nuts and acorns. Similarly, we collect one dollar donations like the tiny treasures that they are, and reward with the following:

    Includes:
    • Your Name on Special Recognition Page in Upcoming Second Treasury
    • The First Treasury Sneak Peek - DRM-Free PDF of First 40 strips.
    • Lost Cactus Insider Certificate (PDF)
    • Lost Cactus Wallpapers for Desktop/Mobile (Digital)
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    6 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge $5 or more About $5

    PENNY GOES SHOPPING

    Penny uses her Kindle for everything – including reading her favorite books – and she wants you to have the Kindle version of Lost Cactus - The First Treasury!

    Includes:
    • Kindle Version of Lost Cactus - The First Treasury
    • Your Name on Special Recognition Page in Upcoming Second Treasury
    • Lost Cactus Insider Certificate (PDF)
    • Lost Cactus Wallpapers for Desktop/Mobile (Digital)
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    11 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge $10 or more About $10

    DOC'S BRAIN VAULT

    Budget cuts even hit top-secret facilities like Lost Cactus. For helping make ends meet with your ten dollar contribution Doc will reward you with the following:

    Includes:
    • iBooks Version of Lost Cactus - The First Treasury
    • Your Name on Special Recognition Page in Upcoming Second Treasury
    • Lost Cactus Insider Certificate (PDF)
    • Lost Cactus Wallpapers for Desktop/Mobile (Digital)
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    4 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge $20 or more About $20

    TY'S PREHISTORIC PITCH

    Ty is green, but never with envy. However, he wants you to be the envy of your friends and neighbors by having a copy of the full-color print edition of Lost Cactus - The First Treasury!

    Includes:
    • Full-Color Print Edition of Lost Cactus - The First Treasury
    • Your Name on Special Recognition Page in Upcoming Second Treasury
    • Lost Cactus Insider Certificate (PDF)
    • Lost Cactus Wallpapers for Desktop/Mobile (Digital)
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    15 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge $30 or more About $30

    GENERAL FOX'S DROP AND GIVE ME 30!

    General Fox orders that 30 dollars reward you with a signed copy of the book PLUS a Lost Cactus patch — just like the one on the general's uniform sleeve.

    Includes:
    • Signed Edition of Lost Cactus - The First Treasury
    • Your Name on Special Recognition Page in Upcoming Second Treasury
    • Official Lost Cactus Embroidered Patch
    • Lost Cactus Insider Certificate (PDF)
    • Lost Cactus Wallpapers for Desktop/Mobile (Digital)
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    13 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Select this reward

    Pledge $75 or more About $75

    BENTLEY THE BEE'S BOONDOGGLE

    After hearing that members of Congress were having their portraits painted at taxpayer expense – typical government boondoggle – Bentley decided to paint his own portrait!

    Includes:
    • Bentley the Bee Self Portrait Hand-Signed 13x19 Giclee
    • Lost Cactus T-Shirt (Sizes S to 5XL)
    • Signed Edition of Lost Cactus - The First Treasury
    • Your Name on Special Recognition Page in Upcoming Second Treasury
    • Official Lost Cactus Embroidered Patch
    • Lost Cactus Insider Certificate (PDF)
    • Lost Cactus Wallpapers for Desktop/Mobile (Digital)
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    6 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (32 days)