Use this space to cheer the creator along, and talk to your fellow backers.
Have a question?
If you were wondering why we were awol, Laboratory was at PAX Prime getting the word out about Shift and The Strongest!
Nancy, the +/- section is to help players keep track of adjustments to their power and guard. If you need help remembering how your stats were modified, this part of the mat is super useful (especially for cards like Flex Flounder). We use more coins for it. Put a coin on + or - to show if it is a negative or positive change to your power or guard, and then place pennies on the 100's and 1000's spaces to show by how much.
Zach: By all means make that analysis, just try not to give away all of the stats per gear and mod. If you could keep your analysis down to which moves are good when, and not necessarily a mathematical stat breakdown, we'd really appreciate it! Also, yes Zach, you can shift from gear 3 to 2, or from gear 2 to 1. And sometimes that's the right decision to make! Also, when you play with Reginald or Akira, their turn order modifications only effect them on their turn (that's why it uses the possessive form Akira's or Reginald's). We're putting together an in-depth rules section for the app that breaks down each mod and ability on every card! Both of their abilities have a detailed description.
Thanks for putting up with our absence, PAX was a blast, and we're glad to be back.
-Sam @ Laboratory
Hi Thomas, You can shift in any direction, so yes, you can from gear 3 to gear 2.
Andrew, please message us on KS - send us your current mailing address and we'll double check that it was sent to the right place.
So, just to be clear (Zach Abramson asked this before), one can or cannot shift from gear 3 to gear 2?
$15(+$5) backer in Australia. Still waiting on cards :)
Just saying :)
Hey Thomas. Pants is meant to be a punisher. If your opponent deals you damage, and they downshift back to first gear, they have a 50% chance that their defense is 200 than normal. With Pant's first gear mods, he's usually able to return the favor. Very eye for an eye. With that in mind, you can get ahead by focusing on his duo crits, either on his omega (which is pretty cheap), or his second gear beta.
Paul, thank you for the info, this is our first time working internationally. We really appreciate how nicely you're breaking the news to us (because my heart is breaking). Sorry about all of that, but we've learned! Thanks for the help! :D
Sam @ Laboratory
Just got mine in the UK. Glad to have them, but got a slightly unpleasant surprise. For future reference, you can (and should) set the customs declaration to the manufacturing cost for Kickstarter fulfilment (at least into the EU).
I got $25 of pledge declared at $25, which translated into a payment of £3.25 VAT and £8 handling fee. So total fees of approximately $17 on my $25 pledge. If the declared value had been $20 or less this would have been waived.
Something to be mindful of for any future kickstarters, especially if you can't arrange an EU shipping partner.
How do you play Pants-Penguin? I can't seem to figure out any underlying strategies regarding play style. Probably just me overlooking it, but I can never with with Pants. And I really like Pantsy.
We'll get to the questions after PAX. ;)
Lee: You've been messaged.
Ok. I have not gotten my P&P version or the physical copies in the mail yet...what is withshping?
Sorry to double post, but I really wanted to say that I ALSO intend to do a thorough ALL Match-ups ANALYSIS (Any card versus any other card, so no mirror matches) in the coming months. In the details will be approximated chance of beating a given card with a given card (Assuming neither player makes "Inefficient moves"). I don't know if making a guide like this would be breaching some kind of trust, provided I would quite possibly be suggest-leaking many of the values of the cards in doing this analysis, so I really wanted to run it by you. If I am not to do such an analysis, I'll only write it for my own records, but not publish it anywhere.
Thanks again for reading, and thanks moreover for making such a fine game!
If Akira is up against Reginald, do the first 3 of 7 subphases go: "Mod Activation, Attack Declaration, and then Defense Declaration" OR "Mod Activation, Defense Declaration, and then Attack Declaration." ???
Also, I was playing Shift with a very analytical buddy the other day and he brought up this good question during a play through with Akira as part of the match (though the question isn't specifically tied to Akira): "Can a player 'strategically' shift from Gear Level 3 to 2?" I figured 'No,' so we played as if it wasn't possible. However when "Strategically" reading the Rulebook, I noticed that the Explanation for what you do with your card when you Shift SERIOUSLY makes me think you, in fact, CAN (?) Shift LEFT OR RIGHT regardless of Gear Level being at 1 (to go to either lvl 2) OR NOT being at 1 (Such as being at Gear level 3 and STRATEGICALLY downshifting to one of the gear level 2s, [say, one with a higher defense than attack.] ).
Thank you for reading these questions.
I was going to ask the second question during some real life tournament to throw everybody off but I'd rather ask now for everyone's benefit, not just for mine!
I'm a backer from England ($25 or more tier) and received my cards today. So thanks Laboratory.
Got my copy after a painful wait due to mail forwarding. Love it! Especially the Inverted Die of Destiny and Impromptu Hero Pants-Penguin.
Thanks for a great game, guys!
It was mentioned on the rule card that the Omega mod is the character's signature move - heck it's a killer, literally. Some of those Omega Mods are crazy powerful :-)
Could you guys explain how to use the +/- section of the player mat?I think I know how I would use it, but what is your thinking on its use? I need to be able to explain this to my tournament people.
Sam & Clay, Great game! Love the cards. Thank you for answering everyone's questions to clarify game play. I had all these same questions. Sam, you are right I missed the line on page 12 regarding length of mods. On the original rules card it had it predominately displayed at the bottom of the Attacking section. While it does belong in the Start section of the rule book, a reminder in 4) Mod Resolution wouldn't be a bad idea.
First off, you can find what you're looking for on page 12 of the rules.
But to save you time, I'll tell you here! :D
Mods wear off on your start phase. I have been making small updates to the rules, and I do believe this tidbit should probably be in a more obvious space - seeing as it's super important.
I skimmed recent comments and scanned the rulebook and I couldn't find a clarifying piece of information that I think is pretty critical:
How long does a mod last? Is it just for my turn? My turn and the opponent's next turn? Until I shift?
I ask because Raptor's right-hand alpha mod has a -200 to guard, but if I understand the rules correctly I'll downshift him to 1 after I attack, and I can only activate the mod during an attack phase. What's missing here?
David Levesque: Glad they're made it! We hope you enjoy it! :)
My 2 packs made it to Montreal this morning! Happy to see all the cards for the first time, can't wait to play it :) Thanks for a well run Kickstarter!
David: Whenever you activate a mod or autocrit, you use all of the critical badges during the critical resolution phase.
Played last night for the first time, and we really enjoyed it! I couldn't find rules for two crits on a mod, like Leo's omega which lists both a Damage Crit and a Shift Crit. Do you use both, or one or the other?
Marc: When you have autocrit, you would still need to flip to determine whether the modifier activates successfully. However, any critical badges on the that modifier would come in to effect during the critical resolution phase regardless of success.
Requesting more rule clarirification: On autocrit, do you still flip the coins to activate? and if you do, does the mod need to successfully activate to get the autocrit?
Thomas: No worries, I've sent you a message.
I know this might sound a little presumptuous or childish or something but everyone else seems to be receiving theirs, and I haven't got mine.
Did I mess up the survey, or do the add-ons take extra time, or what?
Mathew: The app will allow you to keep track of damage/spirit for two players, and will have a "coin" to flip for H/T.
Will the app have flippable spirit/damage tokens? That would be awesome.
Matthew: Glad your enjoying it!
To answer your question: Yes. Technically, you are just unable to activate the modifier. Otherwise the attack proceeds as normal using the natural power of whatever gear you're in. Hope that makes sense!
I've played a few games, and I really enjoy it. One question, though. What happens if a character is in third gear but doesn't have enough spirit to activate their omega modifier? Can they make an unmodified attack?
Robert: We looked into that during the campaign. Costs were too high, so we won't be producing anything anytime soon. They'll fit in most standard card cases, as they are the same size as Magic Cards.
I got my pack, I didn't realize there wasn't a box or case for them. Is there something on the horizon or third party you would recommend?
Deanna: You decide which mod to use after Mod Activation rather than declaring it when Attack Declaration would normally occur. So you flip and then decide.
The idea is that his ability simulates accurate predictions, so he is able to choose the optimal move after flipping. Reginald is similar in that his ability simulates precognition, so he gets to decide whether he will block after Mod Activation.
Does that make more sense now?
Angel: Have fun!
Got the game today and LOVE it. Quick question about Data Expert Akira, his wording on his "passive" type ability is weird, does it mean that he gets to mod then shift, or just mod and not attack and not shift? Or are we missing it altogether?
Got my 2 packs today with the 2 KS cards... opening now and figuring out how to play.
Nicholas: Check your messages.
Christian: Hope you enjoy!
@ Nicholas - I got my print and play. That comment was about getting the physical items delivered.
In the same boat as Quella and Michael Pierno; I have not received my Print and Play email (in neither the Kickstarter inbox, nor my email inbox/spam)
So I get home from GenCon all stoked about my haul and what do I see? My copy of Shift. It was a pleasant surprise. Thank you.
@Laboratory Makes sense, I just didn't see it mentioned anywhere so I wanted to make sure. Thanks
Brandon: Yeah, that's come up. It's the only mistake we've spotted so far. We're intending to add it to the rulebook with any other clarifications that come up as necessary.
kenshivalion: That's correct. The idea is that as you take damage, you earn spirit.
Just wanted to bring up a possible graphic error to help out and clarify something that confused me for a second. On Leo's ability, I'm pretty sure it is supposed to be "Burn Spirit", but the colors for the "Burn Spirit" icon are reversed, making it possible to mistake it for a "Refresh Spirit" icon. I thought I'd let you guys know so you can clarify it and fix the graphic for future prints.
Quick rule clarification. Can you only burn spirit that is in your damage track? That is how I read it but wanted to make sure.
So if you don't Active/Spirit guard, you still compare your Guard stat to their Power. Check out the damage resolution phase. So if your natural guard stat is high enough, you shouldn't have to active/spirit guard. Does that make sense?
Also, rules question, do we have to Active or Spirit Guard? Is there no vanilla guard that doesn't make you downshift? Because Leo references a vanilla guard but it's not in the rulebook
@Lab Thanks, I just hadn't read her omega ability, in my excitement to see the card I was just shuffling through and reading the passive abilities. Now that I understand it I actually really like it!
Guerric: So thematically she's "charging up a lazer". You have the option to spend spirit so that you can do your Omega more easily, but spending spirit in that way puts you at a slight disadvantage.
Joshua: We have the rules, but we haven't had a chance to get people together to playtest them yet. They're coming though!
Kyle: Dude, that sucks! :( We'll take care of you!
Oh, i got it. That'll teach me to read the whole card before flouting my stupidity
I'm probably just being an idiot, but i don't understand the point of Mark II's passive ability. Why would you burn 1 spirit to lose 100 attack and defense?
I have two questions/comments that may have been answered/discussed elsewhere but I was hoping someone could answer:
1. When will the multiplayer rules come out?
2. What gender is Dark Emcee Melpome? The card seems to say that it is a he-she, because both signs and colors are present on the card.