Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
A comic book set in a world where people can physically manifest music bridging the gap between hip-hop and fantasy
70 backers pledged $2,176 to help bring this project to life.
Last updated

About

$2,176

70

Tempo is an action adventure story combining elements of hip-hop and fantasy. In this world, people can physically manifest music. This ability is called Tempo.

The story follows a young woman named Baako who gets her Tempo stolen by a famous rapper. She must reclaim what is hers, and along the way create new bonds that will help her on her quest. 

Who will love Tempo?

If you like Samurai Champloo, The Boondocks, Magi: The Labyrinth, Avatar: The Last Airbender, Persona, and other dope worlds like these then you'll like Tempo!

Fans of books like Saga, Die, East of West, Isola, Seven to Eternity, Kill Six Billion Demons, Rat Queens, and Black Cloud. 

The Golden City

What will you get for backing Tempo?

  • Tempo One: 42 pages printed in standard comic book size on quality paper
  • Exclusive Kickstarter prints, shirts, original artwork and plus more
  • Becoming a character within the Tempo universe
  • Original artwork used within the series
  • My eternal gratitude 
page one
page two
page 3
page 4
Kevin Betou

Creator

"Wow that kid looks twelve". Well I'm not, in fact I'm 21. But like most twelve year olds I love comic books and fantasy worlds and rap and swords and magic and everything that makes you go "wow, that's pretty dope". I've been drawing most my life and this will be my second comic book series. I dropped out of college a year ago and now I work in a sandwich shop so it's safe to say I'm killin' it. I make sandwiches in the day time and then cook up comics at night. I drew, wrote, colored, and lettered Tempo myself. 

 So I LOVE Fantasy stories and equally love Hip-hop. With my first comic book series it was pretty obvious why I wrote it. With Tempo though, it's a little hard to put a finger on. It's more nuanced, but I know that I had to make it. There's this overwhelming feeling of excitement every time I think of a scene or a story arc. When I think of a new character, and what they'll wear, and what they listen to I crack a smile. Every time I listen to music these days I think about which characters the song fits best with. During my job my mind will wander thinking about massive landscapes and fantastical creatures. I guess what I'm saying is, the reason I made Tempo is simply because I couldn't not make it. I am very excited to share it with you!

Tempo book one is fully finished, it just needs the funding to get sent to the printer!

  • Kickstarter Campaign // October-November
  • Buffer (just in case something needs to be corrected) // Late November
  • Printing // Early December
  • Delivery for digital copies // Late December
  • Delivery of physical copies // January

REWARDS

Kickstarter shirts
Kickstarter Shirt
Hoodie one
Hoodie two

Thank You!

Hey, thank you for reading this far. I hope you consider joining and helping me reach my goal! My instagram is bellow, I will be posting updates on there and if you need to ask me any questions, feel free to message me!

https://www.instagram.com/kb2draws/

Risks and challenges

To be honest, there are risks and challenges. This is my first crowdfunding project, so to mitigate the risks I've prepared many contingency plans. The book is fully finished and the printer is aware of the project. The mailing supplies and cost have been taken into account.

In addition, this is my second series. I have a lot of experience selling and sending shirts, books, merchandise, etc. I am confident everything will go over smoothly but I created a buffer of time just in case. Thank you so much for reading this far and I hope you join!

Learn about accountability on Kickstarter
Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 10 or more About US$ 10

    THE MELODY

    Digital PDF of book 1

    Includes:
    • Digital edition of book 1
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    14 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 15 or more About US$ 15

    THE WHISTLE

    Physical copy of book 1

    Includes:
    • Physical edition of book 1
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    20 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 25 or more About US$ 25

    THE SOUND

    All previous rewards plus I will do a sketch inside the book for ya!

    Includes:
    • Digital edition of book 1
    • Physical edition of book 1
    • Sketch within the book
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    Limited 11 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 35 or more About US$ 35

    THE WORD

    All previous rewards, plus two prints

    Includes:
    • Digital edition of book 1
    • Physical edition of book 1
    • Sketch within the book
    • Two prints
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    Limited 2 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 50 or more About US$ 50

    THE PHRASE

    All previous rewards plus a kickstarter exclusive shirt

    Includes:
    • Digital edition of book 1
    • Physical edition of book 1
    • Sketch within the book
    • Two prints
    • Kickstarter exclusive shirt
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    Limited 4 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 85 or more About US$ 85

    THE SENTENCE

    All previous rewards plus the kickstarter exclusive hoodie

    Includes:
    • Digital edition of book 1
    • Physical edition of book 1
    • Sketch within the book
    • Two prints
    • Kickstarter exclusive shirt
    • Kickstarter exclusive hoodie
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    Limited 2 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  7. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 300 or more About US$ 300

    THE SONG

    All previous rewards plus the framed original artwork used for the cover

    Includes:
    • Digital edition of book 1
    • Two prints
    • Physical edition of book 1
    • Sketch within the book
    • Kickstarter exclusive shirt
    • Kickstarter exclusive hoodie
    • Yourself as a character
    • Original cover artwork
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    Limited 0 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  8. Reward no longer available

    Pledge US$ 33 or more About US$ 33

    The Whisper

    5 Physical copies for retail!

    Includes:
    • 5 Physical copies
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    Reward no longer available 2 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  9. Reward no longer available

    Pledge US$ 100 or more About US$ 100

    THE SPEECH

    All previous rewards plus get yourself drawn as a character in the second book

    Includes:
    • Digital edition of book 1
    • Physical edition of book 1
    • Two prints
    • Sketch within the book
    • Kickstarter exclusive shirt
    • Kickstarter exclusive hoodie
    • Yourself as a character
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    Reward no longer available 5 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (30 days)