Funded! This project was successfully funded on September 18, 2012.

Photo-main
Play
00:00
00:00

Alan is a book about the world's first artificially intelligent program and learning where that program fits in among the world.

What Is Alan?

Alan is a novel I'm writing that has a computer program as a main character. It follows a programmer named Garth as he helps his program, which he names Alan, as it develops from a simplistic text-based prompt to a fully integrated robot. The story itself will explore what makes us who we are, artificial intelligence, and a trip through how pop culture looks at AI and robots. Want a taste? 

Read the unedited first three chapters for a sample

Like Alan on Facebook

The Alan Podcast

To help promote Alan, I'm going to make an accompanying podcast where the book will be turned into a radio play, every episode covering a chapter. I have a few friends that are skilled voice actors and some experience in podcast production - the podcasts I'm a part of, Nerdy Show and Dungeons & Doritos, have each been nominated for Parsec Awards - so I know this will be a quality product on its own. The podcast will be freely open for download and available as a part of the Nerdy Show network. At the end of each episode will be a special segment where listeners will be able to mail in any questions they have for Alan and he'll answer them. The theme song, featured in this video, is produced by Dj RoboRob (you can also like him on his Facebook).

You can download the theme song here.

Where Will the Money Go?

With the $500 I look forward to getting the book self-published and offset costs such as cover art, web hosting, and production for the podcast.

After that there are several goals set out that will need some unlocking before we all find out what they are...

$600 Goal :: Three Chapters Unlocked

Our first stretch goal was $600, which was met within the first five hours! WOWZA! The reward? The first three chapters of the book are unlocked! In the spirit of development, they've been released on Github! You can check them out under this project:

https://github.com/hexWarrior/ArtificialAlan 

As I get it into other formats, I'll load them up there for you to download :)

$750 Goal :: Skype Calls Unlocked

Our second stretch goal was $750, came about three hours after the first goal. I am eternally grateful to all of you early supporters that believed in me and jumped in on the opportunity before the big official push was supposed to be!

As such, if you were one of those that donated early, this gift is just for you! You are given the opportunity for a 10 minute skype call with me where we can talk about of my projects. I'd prefer we talk about Alan, but if you want to hear about Nerdapalooza, Nerdy Show, or another story I'm cooking on - hey, it's your dime! Thank you once again. I truly appreciate the early support!

$1000 Goal :: Alan Interface Unlocked

In less than day the project goal was not only met but doubled! Thank you so much, everyone! I'll be wrangling a team of developers to develop a chatbot similar to Alan in personality and uploading him on the Alan website once it's launched!

$1250 Goal :: Alan EP Unlocked

I am so excited that the $1250 goal has been met, I can now announce the next level: there will be a musical release to tie in with the book called the Alan EP. In the tradition of Nerdapalooza and Nerdy Show, it will be populated by talented and nerdy musicians. At the moment, all I can formally announce is that Dj RoboRob will be returning to throw his weight behind Alan as will remixer, fusion2004. We have some big names we need to finalize, but as we get those, we'll put them here!

$1500 Goal :: City Book Tour Unlocked

BOOM! We have tripled the goal! This is amazing! The perk? I will now take the excess wins and travel to a city to do some promotional stops to promote the book! But which city? This is where it gets fun...

I am looking at how many people are contributing to the project based off of their location. Whichever major metropolitan area has the most amount of supporters will be the winner which I go and spend a few days promoting the book! Here are the rules I've set out:

  • I live in Orlando, FL, and because of that I'll be touring here ALREADY. As such, it's disqualified from competing from other metropolitan areas.
  • Continental US cities only. Sorry Alaska, Hawaii, Canada, and the rest of the world, but I can't break the bank just to fly out to you.
  • If you are not from a MAJOR metropolitan area, I've grouped you into a city that you are closest to that has a lot of votes already. I want to meet as many supporters as possible!

$3000 Goal :: Regional Book Tour Unlocked

We did it!! The Regional Book Tour was unlocked! The top three regions are:

  • The West Coast
  • Northeast
  • Great Lakes Region

Because of the amount of support in some of the Canadian cities surrounding the American border, they have been included in the Regional Tour.

$5000 Goal :: National Book Tour Locked

If we somehow through the power of love reach $5000, breaking the original goal by ten-fold, then we are ALL winners!! I will take a solid month off of all of my other projects and travel the nation promoting Alan! This would be so amazing and I hope this is something we make a reality!

Update! T-Shirts

After seeing a really cool Kickstarter backer T-Shirt, I thought I'd also offer one! I've added it to new rewards! If you've already supported Alan, all you have to do is add an additional $15 to your initial support and it'll be added to your package! Here's the preliminary images:

Front of Alan Supporter T-Shirt
Front of Alan Supporter T-Shirt
Back of Alan Supporter T-Shirt
Back of Alan Supporter T-Shirt

If shirts aren't your deal, the previous levels still exist sans shirt. :)

FAQ

  • Nope! I've done the math and it should be alright with the amount that I've put in. I do realize that means I'm getting less overall to send products further away, but I feel it's more important everyone pay a single amount than me making a few extra dollars. To me, if a large group in a country across the world all order my book... I'm MORE excited that I'll have my words read on the other side of the world than I'd be sad that I have to take extra out for shipping!

    Last updated:
134
Backers
$3,734
pledged of $500 goal
0
seconds to go
  • Pledge $1 or more
    You selected

    8 backers

    Your help is incredibly appreciated and you will receive a shout out on the Alan podcast.

    Estimated delivery:
  • Pledge $10 or more
    You selected

    43 backers

    You will receive a shout out on the Alan podcast as well as receive a digital copy of Alan.

    Estimated delivery:
  • Pledge $25 or more
    You selected

    28 backers

    You will receive a shout out on the Alan podcast, a digital copy of Alan, and a signed physical copy of the paperback.

    Estimated delivery:
  • Pledge $30 or more
    You selected

    33 backers

    You will receive a shout out on the Alan podcast, a digital copy of Alan, a signed physical copy of the paperback, and be thanked by name in the introduction of the book.

    Estimated delivery:
  • Pledge $45 or more
    You selected

    1 backer

    You will receive a shout out on the Alan podcast, a digital copy of Alan, a signed physical copy of the paperback, be thanked by name in the introduction of the book, and an Alan Kickstarter Backer t-shirt.

    Estimated delivery:
  • Pledge $50 or more
    You selected

    5 backers

    You will receive a shout out on the Alan podcast, a digital copy of Alan, a signed physical copy of the paperback, be thanked by name in the introduction of the book, and a signed print of the cover art.

    Estimated delivery:
  • Pledge $60 or more
    You selected

    1 backer

    You will receive a shout out on the Alan podcast, a digital copy of Alan, a signed physical copy of the paperback, be thanked by name in the introduction of the book, an Alan Kickstarter Backer t-shirt, and a signed print of the cover art.

    Estimated delivery:
  • Pledge $75 or more
    You selected

    5 backers All gone!

    You will receive a shout out on the Alan podcast, a digital copy of Alan, a signed physical copy of the paperback, be thanked by name in the introduction of the book, a signed print of the cover art, and be given a character to voice for the podcast.

    Estimated delivery:
  • Pledge $100 or more
    You selected

    3 backers All gone!

    NOT ONLY will you receive a shout out on the Alan podcast, a digital copy of Alan, a signed physical copy, be thanked by name in the introduction of the book, and a signed print of the cover art, but you will also be written into the book and voice the character on the podcast.

    Estimated delivery:
  • Pledge $100 or more
    You selected

    3 backers

    You will receive a shout out on the Alan podcast, a digital copy of Alan, a signed physical copy of the paperback, be thanked in the introduction of the book, an Alan Kickstarter Backer T-Shirt, receive a signed print of the cover art, and receive a signed copy of the limited hardcover edition of the book. There is no voice acting options with this level.

    Estimated delivery:
  • Pledge $1,000 or more
    You selected

    0 backers Limited (1 left of 1)

    OMG YOU ARE A BALLER!! Not only will you receive all of the perks from the non-exclusive $100 level but I will also coordinate a book release party anywhere you'd like in the continental United States (sorry everyone else). I will attend and it can be as private or public as you'd like. :)

    Estimated delivery:
Funding period

- (30 days)