Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
Pre-Order "Insanity: A Love Story" E-Book project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound
$0.00 pledged of $350 goal
backers
$0.00 pledged of $350 goal
backers

About this project

What's it line to cross the line between insanity and insanity?  

--"Insanity: A Love Story"

In 1998, after graduating from college and trying to recover from a series of bad relationships, Melissa Miles McCarter struggled with the symptoms of depression.  Soon after starting taking an antidepressant, she was launched into her first mania-induced psychotic break. 

This mental state led her to a hospitalization, which revealed an underlying mood disorder she had unknowingly struggled with her whole life. 

This memoir chronicles the events that led up to her psychotic break and the experiences she had during her hospitalization. Struggling with the diagnosis with bipolar disorder, Melissa explores the fine line between insanity and sanity, and the courage it takes to build one's life after delving into the world of madness.


This e-book release is an expanded and revised new edition...

About the Author:

Melissa Miles McCarter is a writer, editor and doctoral student living in Southeast Missouri with her husband, step-son, two English bulldogs and three cats. She is currently editing an anthology, "Joy, Interrupted: An Anthology on Motherhood and Loss" for Fat Daddy's Farm. Melissa is also working on her dissertation on postfeminist composition studies. She continues to manage her bipolar condition with medication and the help of her family and friends. 

A note from the author:

My memoir adds to the mental hospital genre, in the tradition of "Girl, Interrupted," "An Unquiet Mind" and "I Never Promised You A Rose Garden." I try to present a raw and honest portrait of coming through madness to the other side of reflection and awareness. I try to answer the question, what is it like to go insane and survive?  I also attempt to demonstrate the intimacy and revelation allowed by the interaction between patients in the mental hospital setting. 

My story isn't just my own, but that of the many characters I encounter while receiving treatment for my own manic-depressive symptoms.

What my memoir "Insanity: A love Story" tries bring to this genre is a deeper reflection on the process of going insane. This book is based on the journal I kept during my hospital stay. I write of what I remember from the experience, including my "own 'bizarre' behavior and that of 'other' insane patients and 'sane' hospital workers."

As I point out within this memoir, the dividing line between sanity and insanity isn't that distinct. For someone who hasn't dealt with mental illness, I hope this book will serve as a lyrical eye-opener. For someone who struggles with their own dance with insanity, whatever form it takes, I hope this book is a consolation and empathetic witness to their own experiences."

A new release from Fat Daddy's Farm Press http://fatdaddysfarm.org

"Insanity: A Love Story" 

by Melissa Miles McCarter

Available March 25 on Smashwords and Amazon Kindle

Pre-Order on Kickstarter from now and until March 24

Want more info?  Check out the Fat Daddy's Farm News

Support this project

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge $5 or more About $5

    Brass ring: E-Book copy of "Insanity: A Love Story" -- the retail price will be $5.99 so this is good value

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge $10 or more About $10

    Silver ring: the above & your name on the Fat Daddy's Farm Press homepage (http://fatdaddysfarm.org) as a special thank you

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge $25 or more About $25

    Gold ring: the above & and a t-shirt featuring Fat Daddy's Farm mascot Daisy the Bulldog --(check her out at http://fatdaddysfarm.org)

    Make sure you give us your postal address in order to receive the t-shirt! For anyone with a non-U.S.A. postal address, add $10 for shipping.

    The e-book will be delivered in March, but for the t-shirt, it will be delivered in April.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge $50 or more About $50

    Diamond ring: the above & a poster featuring Daisy the Bulldog and her significant other, Boss Hog the Bulldog (he's a little more shy so his pic isn't on the website)

    Make sure you give us your postal address in order to receive the t-shirt and poster! For anyone with a non-U.S.A. postal address, add $10 for shipping.

    The e-book will be delivered in March, but for the t-shirt and poster, they will be delivered in April.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (29 days)