Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
A new edition of my debut epic fantasy novel, restoring over 30K words that were cut from the book to satisfy editorial demands
54 backers pledged $1,774 to help bring this project to life.

About

$1,774

54

Help me restore my debut novel to its original vision!

 In the tradition of Mercedes Lackey and Elizabeth Haydon comes a riveting fantasy debut about an unlikely deposed prince who must reclaim his kingdom with the help of a disgraced prince, a female wizard, and a powerful magic-breaker. 

The Singer's Crown was my first novel sale. The contract specified delivery of a manuscript of 150,000 words—and the draft I submitted had been over 220K. The process of cutting the book was enlightening, and also excruciating. Some cuts were made that improved pace and style. But when you have to cut 70,000 words from a book (which is, let's face it, an entire small novel's worth), that meant cutting subplots. 

original cover of The Eunuch's Heir, with cover art by Aaron Campbell
original cover of The Eunuch's Heir, with cover art by Aaron Campbell

I lost one important secondary character (Brianna's father, Marcelle), and cut some of the spiritual influence on the work.  I also significantly curtailed one subplot and the role of the key character who followed that adventure, Fionvar—who remains one of my most beloved secondary characters, and whose influence on the series continues into book two—but I’m getting ahead of myself.

For years, when I told the story of my early career, I longed to take back this book. Those of you who are already fans will have heard me dream of The Author's Cut for over a decade. Those of you newer to my work may have heard some of this story as part of my popular lecture, "Ten Mistakes I've Made in my Writing Career so that You Don't Have to." Now, the dream is coming true!

The original publisher finally agreed to revert the rights to the book just last year—thirteen years after its publication! At last, the book is mine! I have restored much of the material that was cut, giving Fionvar his honored place once more, and have spoken with an artist to create covers not only for the Author's Cut, but also for the additional volumes in the newly dubbed Singer's Legacy series, so that all three can be released together in July of 2019.

I am seeking $1500 for the new covers for all three volumes, and website updates to reflect the changes. The Author's Cut will be produced in both eBook and trade paperback editions—in time for Readercon. 

Everyone who supports this project will get to read the complete novel, an epic fantasy adventure with magic and romance.  If you're new to the series, you'll be meeting these characters for the first time, following along on their journey--will Kattanan claim a crown he never sought to wear, overthrowing the usurper?  What if the tyrant isn't even the most dangerous threat to Kat and his friends?  And if you read the original published version, this new edition will broaden and enrich the story, showing you some aspects of old friends that perhaps you hadn't seen before.  

Support the project at a higher level and receive all three completed volumes, for your binge-reading pleasure! But no fears--I have not committed Trilogy!  If you're curious about the proposed fourth volume, I'll share both of the partial manuscripts for Prince Alyn's story, The Prophet's Bride.

However you choose to support The Singer's Crown, I'll deliver a secondary-world fantasy that Library Journal described as "a richly detailed world filled with memorable characters."  Your enthusiasm means so much to me--thanks for joining the adventure! 

original edition of The Bastard Queen, with cover art by Keith Demanche
original edition of The Bastard Queen, with cover art by Keith Demanche

Risks and challenges

I've already drafted the new version of the book, bringing together the best of the published edition, with the material I had to cut.

I'm working with cover artist, Fiona Jayde, to create new covers for all three books. She created another cover for me previously, and has proven to be reliable and easy to work with! These books are already on her schedule.

I currently have a volunteer copy editor, and a book formatter who is willing to barter with me to make sure the finished Author's Cut is professionally produced.

I am currently interviewing web designers who can help with the website updates.

Learn about accountability on Kickstarter
Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 5 or more About US$ 5

    Castle Guard

    an eBook of the new release--hot off the "presses!" with your name in the acknowledgements and my eternal gratitude!

    Includes:
    • eBook edition
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    6 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 12 or more About US$ 12

    Swordsman

    your chance to own all three eBooks: The Singer's Crown, the Eunuch's Heir, and The Bastard Queen--with their new covers!

    Includes:
    • eBook editions of all three Singer's Legacy books!
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    18 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 25 or more About US$ 25

    Knight

    Want to compare the Author's Cut with the original edition? This reward is for you! Includes all three eBooks, plus a signed mass market of the out-of-print first volume!

    Includes:
    • eBook editions of all three Singer's Legacy books!
    • mass market edition of original Singer's Crown release
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    Limited 6 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 40 or more About US$ 40

    Nobility

    Hold the new edition in your hand! This reward level gives you all three 3Books, and a signed trade paperback edition of The Author's Cut!
    eBooks will be sent as soon as available, and physical books will ship toward the end of summer to allow for Worldcon travel

    Includes:
    • eBook editions of all three Singer's Legacy books!
    • signed trade paperback edition of The Author's Cut
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    18 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 110 or more About US$ 110

    Wizard

    Want an exclusive look at another Singer's Legacy project? This level includes an exclusive eBook containing both unfinished versions of my proposed fourth volume, The Prophet's Bride! Should this book be completed? Which plot intrigues you more?

    Includes:
    • eBook editions of all three Singer's Legacy books!
    • signed trade paperback edition of The Author's Cut
    • exclusive eBook of The Prophet's Bride (unfinished 4th volume)
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    Limited 2 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (30 days)