It's been a week since Sainome orders went out to you all, so at this point most people should have their copies. We want to first thank everyone who has tagged us on social media when showing off pictures of the game. The Sainome journey started back in December of 2017, so to see it finally being played has been so exciting and motivating.
Secondly: thank you all for the kind comments, messages, Tweets, and BGG reviews, praising Sainome. It warms our hearts hearing how much you all are enjoying the game.
For today's update, we wanted to take the opportunity to answer some questions we've received throughout the week. Some of these questions are gameplay questions while others are more general. If you have any questions not mentioned here, feel free to drop them in the comments section below, that way it's easier for us to see and respond to.
Now, let's get to it!
Q: According to the rulebook, as long as the Character Card doesn't explicitly say that a skill particular uses an action, then it's to be considered a passive skill. Does that mean you're able to activate all of the ones that don't use an Action on a single turn?
A: Yep! Any character skills that don't require using an action to activate are considered to always be in effect (and in effect at the same time) unless otherwise noted by an opponent's Skill or Sainome Card.
Q: My Oldtimer/Hermit Swordsman has the Mysterious Wrestler/King art on it. Is this a misprint?
A: The short answer… Nope, not a misprint! The long answer… All Kickstarter versions of the game come with a bunch of promo characters. Three of those are backer-customized characters, in specific: the Oldtimer, the Demure Cardsharp, and the Veiled Siren. The backers who pledged to the "Colosseum Champion" tier were allowed to customize a character. This granted them the opportunity to essentially "re-skin" existing characters, and then mix and match skills from any characters in the game to create their own "variant" version of the Character Cards off which they're based. So, you'll notice that these cards, while looking similar to other characters in the game, have new names and new color schemes. These are not misprints. These characters were intentionally designed to look and play as they appear. So, use these characters in your games!
Q: The promo characters feel extremely powerful, maybe even overpowered. What gives?!
A: We have an official tournament/standard play list of "legal" characters coming soon. Until then... The Introverted Scholar/Mistress, Flower Girl/Magical Girl Who Saves the Planet, Mysterious Masked Wrestler/King, and Suspicious Wanderer/Dark Reaper were all designed to be intentionally powerful (and in the case of the Wrestler/King, intentionally designed to be overpowered). Those cards were created as a way to have fun with the game but were not meant for standardized play.
Q: One of the Mysterious Masked Wrestler's abilities mentions a star slot, but it doesn't look like he has a star slot. Can you explain this?
A: It looks like, for at least some people, there was some kind of misprint with the Mysterious Masked Wrestler's card—in specific, his first ability. We are talking with our printing company about what our options are to fix this. As it stands now, though: the Wrestler's top icon (the 2-pip) should be treated as the star. Stay tuned for an update on this card in the coming days.
Q: Do we need to use the Sugoroku rules for anything?
A: The Sugoroku rules are meant only for variant play. They’re essentially a pre-game mini-game used to determine starting HP totals. They're just an optional way to experience the game. We chose to include these rules in order to stay faithful to the original Japanese game and the designers' vision of the Sainome experience. The designers felt really strongly about including these variant rules in the original Japanese release, so we wanted to honor that. Again, they're entirely optional and will not be used in official tourney play!
Q: Unlike other heroes' Awakened Forms, the Beautiful Necromancer promo character doesn’t specify what her equipment pips do. Can you provide clarification?
A: The Beautiful Necromancer's star and triangle equipment slots can be assigned to any numbers the player wishes—this is part of the reason she's so powerful (we should have made this more explicit). But do remember: you may only ever have two sets of numbers assigned to those slots. Example: If you choose "2" as the star equipment slot, then both star equipment slots have to be "2". That is to say, you can't assign "2" to one star slot and then a "5" for the other star slot. The same goes for the triangle star slot on her card.
Q: Can you explain how the Beautiful Necromancer's Black Aura skill works?
A. Sure! First things first: whenever you roll a "6" in Sainome Colosseum, you get to choose any pip on your Character Card to activate. Whenever you activate a pip, you activate any and all slots that have that pip number. (You can read more about this in the rulebook.) So...because you have to assign numbers to the star and triangle equipment slots on the Necromancer's card (see question above), rolling a "6" allows you to activate both slots that correspond to the number you chose to assign to those slots.
An example: You assigned a "3" to the Necromancer's star slots (thus making both star slots a "3" pip) and a "5" to the Necromancer's triangle slots (thus making both triangle slots a "5"). You have just rolled a "6", so you get to choose which pip number to activate per the rules. You choose to activate the "5" pip because you have cards equipped to those slots and because the cards in those slots align with your current match strategy. Because both triangle slots (which are now "5" slots) activate, both equipment cards in those slots are played in whatever order you wish.
That will do it for today's Q&A session! Again, if you have any other questions, drop them in the comments section of this update!
Bradly & the LionWing Team