The Ravens of Unresting Thought - An Illustrated Storybook project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound
$1,441 pledged of $4,500 goal
backers
By Timothy Lantz
$1,441 pledged of $4,500 goal
backers

About

There, through the broken branches, go
The ravens of unresting thought;
- excerpt from “The Two Trees” by W. B. Yeats

The Ravens of Unresting Thought is a deeply personal project and one I am immensely proud of. 

Originally conceived of as a thematic art book, the project grew and evolved over the three-year span of its creation into a fully illustrated original storybook.

Intended for mature audiences, The Ravens of Unresting Thought is a myth for the modern age providing a possible origin for one of humanity’s most tragic ills.

Pages 6-7
Pages 6-7

 

Pages 36-37
Pages 36-37

Inspired by the Native American mythology of the Pacific-Northwest, this story offers a fresh perspective on the tale, Raven Steals the Sun, the Moon and the Stars and imagines how the events in that story have impacted humanity since the time of the First People.  

Combining prose and poetry with elements of a graphic novel, The Ravens of Unresting Thought features an array of artistic styles including traditional hand-drawn and painted illustrations alongside photography and the digital mixed media work I’m probably most often associated with.

 

Pages 16-17
Pages 16-17

 

Pages 50-51
Pages 50-51

Described as thought-provoking, heartfelt and ambitious, The Ravens of Unresting Thought should appeal to fans of Sandman, The Bell Jar and The Crow.

Pages 44-45
Pages 44-45

About the Author/Artist

Timothy Lantz is a professional illustrator and graphic artist with degrees in Art Education and Communications. He is the creator of The Archeon Tarot, available from U.S. Games Systems Inc. His work has been featured on projects from a variety of publishers including: DC Comics, ACE/Penguin Books, Bantam, Juno Books, EDGE Books, AEG, Wildside Press and more. For more information, please visit his personal website, timothylantz.com

Rewards

 

Exclusive Kickstarter Postcard
Exclusive Kickstarter Postcard

 

 

 

8x10 Limited Edition Print Set
8x10 Limited Edition Print Set

 

Risks and challenges

The book was completed in July of 2017 and is ready to go to the printer. As such, the risks are really minimal and I foresee nothing preventing the delivery of the book in a timely manner once printing and delivery have been scheduled.

Learn about accountability on Kickstarter

Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge $5 or more About $5

    Patron of the Arts

    As a Patron of the Arts, you will have your name listed as a contributor to the project on www.unrestingravens.com.

    Includes:
    • Patron of the Arts
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge $10 or more About $10

    eBook Version

    This is the complete book in pdf format suitable for reading online, on a tablet or mobile device.

    Includes:
    • Patron of the Arts
    • eBook version
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    4 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge $20 or more About $20

    Hardcover Edition

    Printed hardcover edition of The Ravens of Unresting Thought.

    Includes:
    • Patron of the Arts
    • eBook version
    • Hardcover Edition of The Ravens of Unresting Thought
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    13 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge $25 or more About $25

    Book + Promotional Postcard

    Hardcover edition of The Ravens of Unresting Thought along with a specially designed promotional postcard exclusive to Kickstarter backers.

    Includes:
    • Patron of the Arts
    • eBook version
    • Hardcover Edition of The Ravens of Unresting Thought
    • Promotional Postcard
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge $30 or more About $30

    Book + Limited Edition Print

    Hardcover edition of The Ravens of Unresting Thought along with a limited edition 8x10 print exclusive to Kickstarter backers.

    Includes:
    • Patron of the Arts
    • eBook version
    • Hardcover Edition of The Ravens of Unresting Thought
    • Promotional Postcard
    • 8 x 10 Limited Edition Print
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    2 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Select this reward

    Pledge $45 or more About $45

    Book + Limited Edition Print Set

    Hardcover edition of The Ravens of Unresting Thought along with a limited edition set of 3 8x10 prints exclusive to Kickstarter backers.

    Includes:
    • Patron of the Arts
    • eBook version
    • Hardcover Edition of The Ravens of Unresting Thought
    • Promotional Postcard
    • Set of Three 8x10 Prints
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    2 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  7. Select this reward

    Pledge $75 or more About $75

    Book + Original Art Card

    Hardcover edition of The Ravens of Unresting Thought along with an original 4x6 work of art by Timothy Lantz.

    Includes:
    • Patron of the Arts
    • eBook version
    • Hardcover Edition of The Ravens of Unresting Thought
    • Promotional Postcard
    • Set of Three 8x10 Prints
    • Original Art Card, 4x6
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    Limited 7 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  8. Select this reward

    Pledge $75 or more About $75

    Book + Archeon Tarot

    Hardcover edition of The Ravens of Unresting Thought along with a signed copy of the Archeon Tarot.

    Includes:
    • Patron of the Arts
    • eBook version
    • Hardcover Edition of The Ravens of Unresting Thought
    • Promotional Postcard
    • Set of Three 8x10 Prints
    • The Archeon Tarot
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  9. Select this reward

    Pledge $1,000 or more About $1,000

    Private Portrait Commission + Book

    Your opportunity to work with Timothy Lantz on a one of a kind private commission, either from a photo you provide or from an arranged photo shoot. (Photo shoot option limited to patron being within travel area of artist.)

    This reward also includes everything from the Book + Limited Edition Print Set reward.

    Includes:
    • Patron of the Arts
    • eBook version
    • Hardcover Edition of The Ravens of Unresting Thought
    • Promotional Postcard
    • Set of Three 8x10 Prints
    • Private Portrait Commission
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Limited 0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (30 days)