Project image
)}
$11,732
pledged of 44.175 $pledged of 44.175 $ goal
112
backers
Funding Unsuccessful
The project's funding goal was not reached on Sat, July 21 2018 1:12 PM UTC +00:00
Seth D. BraunBy Seth D. Braun
First created
Seth D. BraunBy Seth D. Braun
First created
$11,732
pledged of 44.175 $pledged of 44.175 $ goal
112
backers
Funding Unsuccessful
The project's funding goal was not reached on Sat, July 21 2018 1:12 PM UTC +00:00

About

The Purpose:

The purpose of this Kickstarter campaign is to pre-sell the appropriate ratio of books to fund the production of a timeless, classic, beautiful, hard-bound, full-length, children's book in the tradition of The Secrets of Nimh, The Chronicles of Narnia, The Tale of Despereaux, The Redwall Series, and the many other wonderful books where magic, creatures and historical fiction mix. 

Why Use Kickstarter

 project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound

This campaign is designed with the primary intention cover the cost of producing the book. I believe that if I am really lucky, the success of this campaign will open the door for a large publishing house and a movie.    

When you buy a book and the project is funded, you will receive the completed collector's edition book in time for Christmas of 2018. If you buy a book and the project isn't fully funded, then you will receive a refund. Kickstarter is an all-or-nothing campaign. 

Using Kickstarter to publish the story of Miniecello facilitates creative choice of my dream editor, Shawn Coyne and my dream designer, Sylvie Abecassis. Getting to have this much creative direction in choosing who partners in shaping the final product is a rare gift. 

Shawn Coyne's book, The Story Grid
Shawn Coyne's book, The Story Grid

A Bit About The Story  

 project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound

How Did The Book Begin?   

Prior to putting pen to paper and writing this book, I had this thought... I am actually quite embarrassed to share this... but I would think, "My kids are preventing me from making art."

I know, not a very creative way to see my life.

So I finally sat myself down and said, "hey self, all life is a creative act, how are you going to see this differently?" And my self said, "listen knucklehead, you have been telling your daughters a bedtime story for years, why not write it down and link being a dad to being creative... duh..."

(My self is kind of surly)

Nine years later, Miniecello & The Knights of Valor has come to life as a full-length middle grade fantasy-adventure novel in the tradition of The Chronicles of Narnia, Redwall and Harry Potter.

Like those great books, Miniecello's tale attempts to tackle big ideas in a way children (and adults) can grapple with. The theme of the book is: When you act with courage, you experience grace.

What Would You Want People To Know:

 project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound

The three big drivers in the book are:   

  • One: To challenge the young reader with a broader vocabulary
  • Two: To help kids develop a moral compass (without being heavy handed)
  • Three: To tell the hero's journey and incorporate ideas of flow, synchronicity, initiation

One: Broader Vocabulary

I was told many times in workshops and reads that I should use less complex language in this book because it is for kids. As a father of a daughter who read at a college level in elementary school, I believe it is not only OK to use an expanded vocabulary, but actually exceptionally helpful. Research conclusively demonstrates that expanded language acquisition correlates with increased social, emotional and cognitive development through the rest of life. When did it become the norm to dumb down content for our kids? I disagree with the notion. How else will we facilitate language development unless with challenge?

Two: Moral Compass

Learning the difference between right and wrong is more complicated today. This book series provides a framework for kids to explore what it means to be a good friend, a leader, a person of integrity and the fundamental difference between selfish gain and selfless service.

Three: The Hero's Journey & Consciousness

At Stagen Leadership Academy, we often use the mono-myth model of 'The Hero's Journey,' as a map for psychological development. In this book, I studied the hero's journey as craft from the work of Stephen Pressfield and Shawn Coyne.

Who Is The Book For?

 project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound

 Sample Title Page: 

Title Page
Title Page

Sample Table of Contents: 

Table of Contents A
Table of Contents A
Table of Contents B
Table of Contents B

Who Are Your Favorite Characters?   

 project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound
Chapter One A
Chapter One A
Chapter One B
Chapter One B
Chapter One C
Chapter One C
Chapter One D
Chapter One D

The Numbers Behind This Project:   

The Numbers
The Numbers

 Funding will continue until Sat, July 21 2018 7:37 AM CDT and no backers will be charged until Sat, July 21 2018 7:37 AM CDT.  

Books will be delivered in time for Christmas Holiday, 2018. 

Risks and challenges

The big risk is that capital '"R" resistance grabs hold of my soul and says, "You know what, this book is not that important, don't work with your dream editor, dream designer and create a beautiful work of art."
But you know what I say to resistance?
"Get lost ya' filthy animal," nod to Kevin in Home Alone.

The good news is that I have published three books already, so I know that I am susceptible and have trained my whole life for this moment.

The other risk is that people just aren't interested and I can't fund the project. That happens.
I am kind of freaked out about putting myself out there on a new creative endeavor. It is scary. But I am committed to asking for help... and calling my friends on the phone...being honest. I need help.
I've done this a lot already.
Plus, there is a stronghold of angels watching over this little mouse, Miniecello and they won't let him fall!

At the end of the day, I could put time, money and energy into a Kickstarter campaign and it fails to fund. If that happens, I'll reevaluate and move forward with another way.

Learn about accountability on Kickstarter

Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge $21 or more About $21

    Collector's Edition Hard Cover

    A beautifully bound, limited edition, collectible hard-cover version with original illustrations from Seth and his daughters, Paloma and Marisol.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    39 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge $41 or more About $41

    Signed Collector's Edition Hard Copy

    Signed and personalized, beautifully bound, limited edition, collectible hard-cover version with original illustrations from Seth and his daughters, Paloma and Marisol.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    Limited 29 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge $100 or more About $100

    5 Book Gift Bundle ($20 each)

    Get your 2018 Christmas gifts for your kid's friends handled now with hard-cover, collector's edition books.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only certain countries
    24 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge $200 or more About $200

    10 Book Gift Bundle ($20 each)

    Get your 2018 Christmas gifts for your kid's friends as well as the bibliophiles on your list with hard-cover, collector's edition books.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    6 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge $450 or more About $450

    25 Book Classroom Bundle ($18 each)

    Sponsor a classroom reading program for a middle school in your neighborhood. Especially relevant for pre-AP, Talented and Gifted or accelerated reading.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    2 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Select this reward

    Pledge $1,450 or more About $1,450

    25 Book Classroom + Reading Event

    For Metro-Dallas:
    Sponsor a classroom reading program for a middle school in your neighborhood. Especially relevant for pre-AP, Talented and Gifted or accelerated reading.
    All copies of the book signed personalized for the class and/or school
    Seth coordinates a guest reading event with the school.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  7. Select this reward

    Pledge $1,600 or more About $1,600

    100 Book Corp. Gift Bundle ($16 each)

    Secure one-of-a-kind gifts for the parents in your organization to share with their kids. All copies signed.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (30 days)