$150
pledged of 7.500 $pledged of 7.500 $ goal
2
backers
Funding Unsuccessful
The project's funding goal was not reached on Sat, June 9 2012 10:59 PM UTC +00:00
John ClarkBy John Clark
First created
John ClarkBy John Clark
First created
$150
pledged of 7.500 $pledged of 7.500 $ goal
2
backers
Funding Unsuccessful
The project's funding goal was not reached on Sat, June 9 2012 10:59 PM UTC +00:00

About

About the Book

Faith Logan is a woman in too deep. Her life has been out of control ever since she met Seraph. When he saved her from being killed by a supernatural creature, she had no idea what accepting his help meant. Now, Faith is forced to work alongside the Coven, a group ruthlessly led by the fanatical Seraph, to protect an ignorant world from occult threats. But Seraph wants to control Faith just as he does the Coven, and it, like Faith, is plagued by conflicting agendas, dangerous secrets, and the struggle to determine which of its members is actually the masked Seraph.

Obsessed with Jezebel Arcana, a singer accused of ritually slaying a woman after a concert, Faith descends into a shadowy world of black magic and deceit. Faith believes that Jezebel is innocent, but is her growing attraction to Jezebel clouding her judgment? Meanwhile, Seraph, a ruthless killer and Faith’s lover, stalks Arcana in order to enact his own deadly form of justice. As Faith unravels Jezebel’s dark past, each discovery only deepens the mystery. If Faith can’t uncover the identity of the murderer, then an innocent woman will die and a powerful evil will be unleashed. Torn between the two, Faith struggles to save Jezebel, but can she save herself?

RED CHORDS is noir influenced urban fantasy with a heavy dose of hard boiled. Paranormal romance this ain't. Fans of Jim Butcher and Laurell K. Hamilton will feel right at home in Metro alongside Faith. It's the first in a series wherein each book stands alone, but advances the story to solve the mystery of Seraph’s identity and his part in a growing conflict of divine proportions.

Facts About Faith

  • Her father, Creed Logan, is a disgraced televangelist
  • She parks her motorcycle in her living room
  • Despite having an ongoing relationship with the Seraph, she has no idea what he (or she) looks like beneath the mask
  • Faith is deathly afraid of heights
  • She is the object of unrequited love from a millenia-old vampire (who is loathsome and wrinkled rather than being angst-ridden and glittery)
  • Her favorite gun is a Smith & Wesson .357 Ladysmith revolver


Excerpt

I take a smoke from my jacket pocket and slide it between my lips. I step out from behind the dumpster. Broken glass crunches under my boots. I know Seraph hears me, but for whatever reason, he doesn't turn. I stop and light my cigarette, cupping the fragile flame to protect it from the breeze. I exhale the harsh, yet soothing smoke and wait. This is all part of his act. He has no idea how long I've been watching, but he doesn't want to give anything away. I guess he figures if he plays it cool, it will seem like he's known I was there all along.


“Faith,” is all he says. No warmth, no disapproval, nothing.

Seraph is unpredictable and volatile. Most of the time he's stoic to the point of being indifferent, but other times, the slightest thing can set him off. I feel the anger bubbling just beneath the surface, the resentment at my intrusion, but I have a problem with boundaries. I like to jump up and down on them.

“I guess I'm supposed to pretend that I didn't just see what you'll pretend didn't just happen?” I ask.

“What are you doing here?”

Clearly he’s not happy to see me, but surprisingly he refuses to take the bait. Maybe I’m being too obvious.  “I thought I'd get a bit of air, maybe catch some music. Who’s the headliner tonight?”

“I don't have time for your games, Faith.”

Okay, I was wrong. He’s going to play it cool tonight and not give anything away. He doesn’t even have the decency to ask me why I followed him. Screw him.

  “No time? Haven't you heard? All work and no play make Seraph a dull boy. If you're not careful, you'll wake up one morning and find that the thrill has gone out of being a homicidal vigilante.”

What is the Final Product?

A professional trade paperback available through online retailers, bookstores, and libraries. In addition to the printed copies, ebook copies of RED CHORDS will be available for all major eBook readers through the Amazon Kindle store and other major outlets.

What Will the Money Be Used For?

Primarily it goes to the cost of copyediting, design, layout, typography, and cover artwork. After that it goes to pay for any extra material necessary to promote the book.

So, if you would like a copy of Red Chords, please join this project and help spread the word!   All supporters will also receive a personal note saying you helped out.  Thanks to everyone who's actually read this far.  It means a lot.


- John Clark

Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge $5 or more About $5

    You'll be featured in a list of supporters on the upcoming website.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge $10 or more About $10

    You receive a signed bookmark featuring cover art from the novel.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge $25 or more About $25

    You receive an ebook copy of RED CHORDS in ePub or Mobi format, compatible with all major eBook readers (Kindle, iBooks, Sony, Nook).

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge $50 or more About $50

    You receive a print copy of Red Chords.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge $100 or more About $100

    You receive a signed and numbered copy of Red Chords as well as all the rewards above. First supporters get the lowest numbers.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Limited 1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Select this reward

    Pledge $500 or more About $500

    You receive a signed and numbered print of the cover art as well as all the rewards above.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Limited 0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  7. Select this reward

    Pledge $1,000 or more About $1,000

    As well as all the rewards above, you or your business will be prominently featured in the acknowledgements of the book. How cool is that?

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  8. Select this reward

    Pledge $2,500 or more About $2,500

    You receive the original artwork from the cover of RED CHORDS signed by both the author and the artist as well as all the rewards above.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Limited 0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (30 days)