Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
Have Fun, Leave Me Out of It is the second collection of the queer hipster slice-of-life webcomic Muddler's Beat!
Have Fun, Leave Me Out of It is the second collection of the queer hipster slice-of-life webcomic Muddler's Beat!
154 backers pledged $5,246 to help bring this project to life.

About

Have Fun, Leave Me Out of It project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound
  • Off
    • English

$5,246

154

What Is It?

This is the second collected volume of Muddlers Beat comics. Muddlers Beat is a popular web comic and an LGBTQ-focused, antic comedy slice-of-life comic strip about a group of friends just muddling through life, like we all do. The comics in this volume tell stories about new romance, about finding yourself, about BABIES, and about the lighter side of grief. Have Fun, Leave Me Out of It will be a full-color, 60-page, offset-printed, perfect-bound trade paperback. It's going to be real spiffy. You'll like it.

New romance! Plus breakfast!
New romance! Plus breakfast!

What's It About?

Ken is a hipster in his 20's who's a bit of a player and who's falling for a hunk named Hiroshi. Ken's ex Corey just set aside his creative aspirations in favor of a corporate job working for their friend Finn. Finn's been with his husband Charlie for over 20 years—a portrait of homey old romance. Jaime is a new widower in his late 50's navigating a world without his sweetie. Jake is a transman settling into a comfy companionable romance with ingenue fireball Krys. And because we need our reality spiked with comedy, the stories are told in the form of jokes, in the tradition of Doonesbury and For Better Or For Worse.

If you are Sad, I highly recommend the Sad Test
If you are Sad, I highly recommend the Sad Test

What People Are Saying

Some kind words about the last Muddlers Beat book:

“Tony Breed's new book of Muddlers Beat cartoons, the perfectly titled Literally Everything is Outside My Comfort Zone, reads like an excellent novel. An affecting, slice of life series of interconnected stories about an extended group of friends that's completely charming, funny, sexy, and keeps you turning the page to find out what happens next. And the drawings are f'ing adorable.”—Eric Orner, The Mostly Unfabulous Social Life of Ethan Green

Literally Everything Is Outside My Comfort Zone tackles everything from non-monogamy to trans issues to public radio – you know, the important queer issues. It’s a fantastic world created with so much love and empathy, you’ll wish you could hug every character – even when they’re making terrible choices.”—Kate Leth, Marvel's Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat!

PREACH, Charlie!
PREACH, Charlie!

Acknowledgments

The background music in my video is "I'm Still Spoiled As the Day I Was Born", by Dream Version, who kindly gave me permission to use the song. It's off their excellent 2017 album Fight Fair, which you can buy on iTunes, among other places.

My trusty fulfillment company, Make That Thing
My trusty fulfillment company, Make That Thing

Risks and challenges

The comics are all written, and I have done this kind of project before, so I know what I'm doing. The risks are very low—the only real variable is my time, and the only real risk is that the book could be released late. Once again I'm partnering with Make That Thing (makethatthing.com) for fulfillment, so it will be fast and professionally done.

Learn about accountability on Kickstarter

Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge $5 or more About $5

    PIXELICIOUS LEVEL

    Digital Copy. You get the e-book version of HAVE FUN, LEAVE ME OUT OF IT, which you can read on any computer or tablet.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    17 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge $10 or more About $10

    ONE REAL-ASS BOOK LEVEL

    A physical copy of HAVE FUN, LEAVE ME OUT OF IT.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    23 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge $10 or more About $10

    PIXELICIOUS DUO LEVEL

    Digital Copy. You get the e-book versions of both Muddlers Beat books: HAVE FUN, LEAVE ME OUT OF IT, and LITERALLY EVERYTHING IS OUTSIDE MY COMFORT ZONE, which you can read on any computer or tablet.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    9 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge $20 or more About $20

    DOODLEBOOK LEVEL

    A physical copy of HAVE FUN, LEAVE ME OUT OF IT, signed, with a sketch in it.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    18 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Reward no longer available

    Pledge $20 or more About $20

    EARLYBIRD PATRON LEVEL

    A physical copy of HAVE FUN, LEAVE ME OUT OF IT, signed, with a sketch in it and a special thank you in the book. The first 5 patrons save $5 on this option!

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    Reward no longer available 5 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Select this reward

    Pledge $20 or more About $20

    TWICE AS NICE, BOTH MUDDLERS BOOKS LEVEL

    Physical copies of HAVE FUN, LEAVE ME OUT OF IT and LITERALLY EVERYTHING IS OUTSIDE MY COMFORT ZONE.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    18 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  7. Select this reward

    Pledge $25 or more About $25

    THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATRONAGE LEVEL

    A physical copy of HAVE FUN, LEAVE ME OUT OF IT, signed, with a sketch in it and a special thank you in the book.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    20 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  8. Select this reward

    Pledge $30 or more About $30

    MURDER CRAB SHIRT LEVEL

    A physical copy of HAVE FUN, LEAVE ME OUT OF IT, signed, with a sketch in it, and a MURDER CRAB t-shirt, as seen in the comic.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    20 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  9. Select this reward

    Pledge $50 or more About $50

    HI, I'M A BOOKSTORE LEVEL

    Five copies of HAVE FUN, LEAVE ME OUT OF IT, because you are a bookstore, or want to pretend you're a bookstore.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  10. Select this reward

    Pledge $60 or more About $60

    GRAND SLAM HITCHED+MUDDLERS LEVEL

    Physical copies of both Muddlers Beat books (HAVE FUN, LEAVE ME OUT OF IT and LITERALLY EVERYTHING IS OUTSIDE MY COMFORT ZONE) as well as all 4 Finn and Charlie Are Hitched books (CAN WE SKIP TO THE PART OF THE CONVERSATION WHERE I GET MY WAY; I LOVE YOU, YOU BIG WEIRDO; HOW WOULD I KNOW IF YOU'RE DREAMING? and EVERYONE IS SOMEONE'S FETISH.)

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    5 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  11. Select this reward

    Pledge $80 or more About $80

    PAINT A PICTURE—ORIG WATERCOLORS LEVEL

    A 4"x6" original ink and watercolor drawing of any one of the characters in the comic.

    Plus, you'll get everything in the THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATRONAGE Level, above.

    Books will ship out in June; watercolors will come separately, by the end of the year.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    Limited 6 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  12. Reward no longer available

    Pledge $100 or more About $100

    COMIC CAMEO (WORD UP) LEVEL

    Cameo! You will have a cameo in Muddlers Beat some time in 2018.

    Plus, you'll get everything in the THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATRONAGE Level, above.

    Books will ship out in June; cameos will run some time in 2018.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    Reward no longer available 10 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (14 days)