Expedition Zetta - Charting the Universe

by Ion Game Design

Ion Game Design wants some feedback on this project. What do you like? What could be better? Anything missing?

Leave feedback
    1. David Spangler about 10 hours ago

      Launch delayed, but when the expedition does start out, it will be stronger than ever, I'm sure! Looking forward to it.

    2. Leo Borg Collaborator 2 days ago

      @Katherine Crispin: We have been working hard to get the possibility to have the campaign in USD. That's why we haven't changed the graphics and added estimates in USD as well as in EURO, the same in the pledge level boxes on the right. If it doesn't go through we will add that before we go live. Thank you :)

    3. Katherine Crispin
      Superbacker
      2 days ago

      Since you have to list the price in SEK, I recommend putting an "estimate" of USD in the actual pledge level description. Looking for the information in a chart will turn people off. The FIRST thing I do, before reading anything other than the title is to check the pledge levels pricing. If all I see is foreign currency, I am unlikely to back the project.

    4. Leo Borg Collaborator 3 days ago

      @David: Thanks for pointing that out. I have changed it back now.

    5. David Spangler 4 days ago

      In the title, though, "Expedition Zetta - Charting the Universe," it is customary to capitalize nouns, even common ones. Not a hard and fast rule, certainly, but it is an exception to the rule Maricel correctly brought up.

    6. Ion Game Design 2-time creator 4 days ago

      @Marciel Thank you for bringing this to our attention! I was about answer you that we are following Wikipedia standard (they capitalize the universe in their page on the universe). But I thought you have to have reason to differ. And on NASA's page for language recommendation I could read that Wikipedia has got it wrong (in this case I trust NASA more) https://history.nasa.gov/printFriendly/styleguide.html
      Changing this on the kickstarter page as well as in the rules, our homepage and promotional material
      /Jon

    7. Missing avatar

      Maricel Edwards 4 days ago

      Also, just a head's up: "Universe" is a common noun and shouldn't be capitalized. :)

    8. Ion Game Design 2-time creator 5 days ago

      Hi! Jon here:
      @all: Thank you for all your thoughts! I've done a rework of the page now based on feedback we've gos so far, here and through other channels. Leo is continuously working on tweaking and improving the page all the way to Thursday
      @Johan: The text is shorter now, we will make it shorter on the graphics too. And the tagline is modified. Rewards texts and possibly a further trimmed down text It is in the making.
      @Magnus: I've modified/changed according to all three of your suggestions
      @Vaughn: All three texts that you suggested tweaks in is now reworked.
      @Nigel: Yes, if we are funded by mid September it should be possible. We are still waiting for some confirmations but our definite goal is to have it delivered before new years, hopefully in time for Christmas! We are working with a fairly large manufacturer and they should be able to make it.

    9. Missing avatar

      Johan Ekenberg on August 10

      1. Change/re-arrange the lead text below the top headline to something like: "Explore any planetary system in the Entire Universe, discover alien life (and romance crew members) in this engaging and unique space exploration game". The unique feature of the game is the possibility to end up at any star in the known universe - put that first!

      2. Move all the juicy quotes by Dead Viking, Another Dungeon.com etc up to the very top of the page. Absolutely do not hide them below about 20 minutes of text!

      3. Seriously, the page is waaaaay too long. You have something like 12 seconds to catch people's attention and you will never do it with a Wall Of Text. I'm not joking, the amount of information you expect people to go through is staggering. Set a goal to cut the page size down by at least 75%. Really.

      4. The texts describing the different pledge levels are problematic. They are too long and too similar. They need to clearly show the differences and perks for each level and this must be obvious at a *quick glance*. Nobody wants to read large blobs of *almost identical text* and try to spot the difference in each, and remember it all to go back and compare. Use bullet lists with short phrases. Use a different color/style for the bullet items which are unique to each pledge.

    10. Missing avatar

      Magnus Karlsson on August 10

      I would skip this:
      "EXPEDITION ZETTA is a beautiful game, with 3D-models of spaceships, gorgeous art and a modular game system. We have put a lot of effort into making this a game that suit may players and play styles."
      Most of what you say in those sentences are highly subjective so I don't think it adds something. Instead, show your gorgeous art and explain how you play the game.

      Personally I find the part about the different versions a little messy. It's a lot of text to browse before you actually reach the game content. Would it be possible to focus on the regular game, the version that you want most players to play and enjoy. Then you can have paragraphs later in the text explaining that there are add on modules included for even greater depth.

      I would avoid statements as "thoroughly designed " as they tell me nothing. I would focus on explaining what the experience really contains.

    11. Vaughn Mena
      Superbacker
      on August 10

      After a quick glance at the text on this page I would recommend these changes:

      - The modules let a play group that plays several times go deeper and deeper into the game.

      - The modules also let game enthusiasts play a quite intricate and complex game if they want, by combining all the modules.

      - The advanced game can be played with a randomizer called the Zetta PSG, which has as many combination as there are stars in the Universe! (For real!) It is safe to say that no two games of Expedition Zetta are alike :)

      A retrofuturistic game! EXPEDITION ZETTA is a Universe exploration board game set in an alternate history 1962, where warp drive technology was invented in the 1950s. You represent a country that takes part in the maiden voyage of the first spaceship ever to use this new warp drive. The goal of the game is to collect discoveries in the four planetary systems you visit on your journey to distant galaxies. The player that brings home the most discoveries gets the most fame back on Earth and wins the game.

      How to Play Video and Rules: Here's a how to play video we made. It sums up most of the concepts of the game.

    12. Nigel Buckle
      Superbacker
      on August 10

      Is the December 2017 delivery realistic? Many (most) kickstarters end up delivering late. If you're sure you'll hit the deadline it might be worth explaining why. If not, perhaps a different date should be claimed?

    13. Leo Borg Collaborator on August 9

      Judy Krauss: Thank you. Have fixed that now.

    14. Judy Krauss on August 9

      Okay, but you are missing an entire pledge level, and one is mislabeled.

    15. Leo Borg Collaborator on August 8

      Judy Krauss: We are still working on getting this kickstarter campaign in USD, so if the pledge levels on the right aren't exactly as the graphics yet that is why.

    16. Judy Krauss on August 8

      It appears that your pledge levels on the right are messed up, according to the descriptions below. Your "Crew" level seems to actually be the "Character" level, and the real "Crew" level seems to be missing.

      Also, your estimates of costs converted to USD are not accurate (too low).

No feedback yet! Be the first to leave feedback

This is not a live project. This is a draft shared by Ion Game Design for feedback.

Note that all projects must comply with the Kickstarter Rules to launch. Ion Game Design may disable this link at any time.

Expedition Zetta - Charting the Universe project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound
SEK 0.00 pledged of SEK 222,222 goal
backers
SEK 0.00 pledged of SEK 222,222 goal
backers

About this project

- We are still working on getting this kickstarter campaign in USD, so if the pledge levels on the right aren't exactly as the graphics yet that is why. - 

Expedition Zetta - Charting the universe

Have you ever looked up in the sky, at all the stars, at the marvel of the universe and felt a curios nerve inside wanting to travel to these stars, see the planets there and maybe find life? EXPEDITION ZETTA includes 3D-models of spaceships, gorgeous art and a modular game system. We have put a lot of effort into making this a game that suit many players and play styles. From young or inexperienced players to enthusiast!

Expedition Zetta is a game for 1-5 players (10 years and up. Play time: 15-45 minutes per player). You and your fellow players will each represent a country in a maiden voyage of the first starship to ever use a newly developed warp drive. The goal is to brave the unknown and collect discoveries in four different star systems. Though you may have to cooperate, one player will bring special fame and fortune to his or her home country.
Will it be YOU?

Reviews

Here we post reviews and previews of EXPEDITION ZETTA during the Kickstarter campaign. (reviews linked via quote image)

 

 

 

In Expedition Zetta, you'll:

  • discover strange planetary systems, randomly generated each game based on the latest scientific data
  • find exotic new substances never before seen
  • develop exo-products that can advance human technology
  • gain new knowledge
  • encounter new forms of life or ruins and settlements of vanished, ancient alien civilizations with their promise of both danger and discovery.
  • perhaps encounter another star-faring civilization whose members might even become part of your crew, making it not only international but interstellar
  • see crew interactions that can lead to romance or intrigue, which can either help or hinder you.

Every game plays differently! 

The revolutionary Zetta Planetary System Generator can generate as many different star systems in the game as there are in the known universe, each with its own unique characteristics and its own name. Thus, no two voyages to the stars will ever be the same! Further, you can shape the game to meet your needs and interests.

  • Expedition Zetta has a basic version that is great for the whole family.
  • Want a quick game? Use the Quick rules!
  • Want to add special adventures and encounters to your mission? Play adding one or several of the specialized rule modules!
  • Want to play solo? There are two different solitaire variants.
  • Playing for the first time? Use the play-and-learn tutorial.

Expedition Zetta is a game that offer an accessible, joyful time to an inexperienced player. At the same time, the modular rules and random star systems combines science and fluid gameplay to bring a depth of experience to the game enthusiast, offering many different types of strategies to accomplish the mission. Based on carefully researched scientific facts, Expedition Zetta brings a believable, consistent, internal game logics to player on all levels. Whether solo or with friends, Expedition Zetta gives you YOUR universe to explore in YOUR way, a universe as infinite as the cosmos itself, filled with wonder, surprise, danger, and discovery!

A game that players love!

EXPEDITION ZETTA has been play-tested continuously during the development process, ever since the very early prototypes. The game has been greatly appreciated. In particular, they have enjoyed: 

  • The way you are taken through the game via three distinct game sections which affect each other intricately. 
  • The epic feel of the game. 
  • The fact that the game can generate and even name as many planetary systems as there are in the known universe.
  • The combination of science behind the mechanics and the fluent gameplay. 
  • Finding life in distant galaxies! :)

A retrofuturistic game!

EXPEDITION ZETTA is set in a retrofuturistic 1962. This is an alternate history where warp drive technology was invented in the 1950's, a time when space travel was magical and anything seemed possible--and it was! You represent a country that takes part in the maiden voyage of the first spaceship ever to use this new warp drive. The 1960's feel has been present as a goal in every design decision during the creation of Expedition Zetta.

All the components in Expedition Zetta laid out and ready to play a 2-player game - These are the components of the current prototype version.
All the components in Expedition Zetta laid out and ready to play a 2-player game - These are the components of the current prototype version.

 

So, how do I play it!

You are a country! On the journey you bring 1-4 crew members. Your goal is to make the most famous discoveries in the distant galaxies. 4 random planetary systems form your path through space. Make the best of it! The basic version of the rules are played through:    

PREPARATION - Once per game, in the beginning, you recruit the best possible crew for the journey. 

EXPLORATION - 4 planetary systems per game. After warping together to a distant star you travel with your crew individually between planets, searching for life and substances or trying to construct exo-products. If the life you find is intelligent you may even interact with it. The discoveries are your main source of Fame.  

The modules in the advanced rules can add both more possibilities and more whole stages to the game:  

PLANETARY SYSTEM GENERATION (Advanced game) - you use the revolutionary Zetta PSG’s dice and card system to generate a unique planetary system in the universe.  

WARP (Advanced game) - During the warp stage you interact with the other players’ crew members to gain advantages. Romance or Intrigue may occur, with varying effects.  

More information can be found in the rules-link and the how-to-play-video below.

How to Play Video and Rules:

Here's a how to play video we made. It sums up most of the concepts of the game.

The rules!

The rules have not had any art direction, language check or layout work. But here you have them in their raw form (This is our actual original document that we are still tweaking so it may change slightly over time :) EXPEDITION ZETTA RULES

Words from the designer, Jon Manker

INTRODUCING EXPEDITION ZETTA TO NEW PLAYERS: I wanted Expedition Zetta to be a game for all that also give you depth if you want to. It is surprisingly easy to learn if you use the basic rules, the quick versions and the tutorial mini games. The game plays in different stages, which is helpful when you are familiar with them. In playtests, I have seen that players tend to get past the first threshold of the game and finding the flow after only two warps or so which is great. It always warms a game designers heart when players find the flow in your game.

ABOUT THE STRATEGY IN EXPEDITION ZETTA: One thing that I am particularly proud of in EXPEDITION ZETTA is how the ever-shifting environments you encounter open up a web of potential strategies to challenge the ingenuity and daring of the player. Beginners to the game are helped by this as they can always find something exciting to do during their turns. Likewise, the experienced player will continue to find new possibilities or new ways to tweak familiar strategies. I still find new strategies myself, to be honest. One important thing is to use the elements of randomness to your advantage. I sincerely hope and believe that all of you deciding to get a copy of EXPEDITION ZETTA will have many, many hours of great, enjoyable gameplay ahead of yo, and many epic and memorable moments that will trigger your imagination about our unfathomable universe.

 

 

 Follow us on our social media channels :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

DISTRIBUTORS AND RETAILERS: 

We practice industry standard price reductions for distributors and retailers. If you are a distributor or a retailer and want to pre-order Expedition Zetta, please contact Besime at info@iongamedesign.com and she will get back to you with information on price levels and shipping arrangements.

Risks and challenges

When you pledge on Kickstarter you put your trust in a project long before it is completed and you contribute, with this trust, to making Expedition Zetta a reality. We value that kind of trust and we value the model of Kickstarter too. It is built on trust and Ion Game Design will honor that model and prove our trustworthiness in delivering Expedition Zetta, as we did with our previous successful Kickstarter "HIRÞ".
Having said that, here are a few thoughts on the game and on production issues.
- The game has been developed in stages and over a period of several years, iterated through many play-testing sessions. The general impression from almost every play testers has been highly positive, both on the game mechanics and the quality in which the game will be produced. The gameplay and the balance of the game is well tested.
- We have met face to face with many different manufacturers from China and have taken advice from numerous other game developers. We feel very confident that the manufacturer we’ve chosen will deliver an excellent product.
- Ion Game Design is run by very experienced staff. We have a clear understanding about responsibility, quality and professionalism. We feel confident that we will be able to tackle any bumps on the production road and we will keep you updated about the process along the way.

Learn about accountability on Kickstarter

Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support this project

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge SEK 8 or more About

    LAUNCH AUDIENCE

    In case you have not decided to back Expedition Zetta: Pledge at this level to be kept in the warp-loop and receive the backer updates, as well as being able to share your thoughts in the comments section. Welcome on board the Expedition Zetta journey!

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    SEK
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge SEK 50 or more About

    ZETTA SUPPORTER

    Show your appreciation and support the project. All SUPPORTER pledgers will be honored by being mentioned in the ”Special Thanks”-section of the rules as well as in a special “thank you” video on Ion Game Design’s Youtube channel, where we will play EXPEDITION ZETTA and dedicate each move to one of the SUPPORTER pledgers by naming them.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    SEK
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge SEK 500 or more About

    ZETTA CREW

    Get one copy of EXPEDITION ZETTA including all unlocked stretch goals and your name in the "Special Thanks"-section in the Rules.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    SEK
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge SEK 750 or more About

    ZETTA CHARACTER

    Get one copy of EXPEDITION ZETTA including all unlocked stretch goals and your name in the "Special Thanks"-section in the Rules. Also: You will on a first-back-first-serve basis get to decide the name of one of the existing crew illustrations and influence its background story (in collaboration with the game development team).

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    SEK
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge SEK 850 or more About

    ZETTA SCIENTIST

    Get one copy of EXPEDITION ZETTA including all unlocked stretch goals and your name in the "Special Thanks"-section in the Rules. Also: You will on a first-back-first-serve basis get to decide what one of the Exo Products in the game will be called, and which illustration should go with it (in collaboration with the game development team). The Exo Products are retrofuturistic inventions produced in the special environments found around distant stars.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    SEK
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Select this reward

    Pledge SEK 1,450 or more About

    ZETTA INVENTOR

    Get one copy of EXPEDITION ZETTA including all unlocked stretch goals and your name in the "Special Thanks"-section in the Rules. Also: You will on a first-back-first-serve basis get to invent a future Exo Product! You will name it, choose an illustration for it and the special bonus it provides. You will also be noted on the card as the inventor of this fabulous device (in collaboration with the game development team). Note: By pledging at this level you will be a kind of philanthropist since your pledge will add another Exo Product card to ALL copies of the game.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    SEK
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  7. Select this reward

    Pledge SEK 1,700 or more About

    ZETTA PIONEER

    Get one copy of EXPEDITION ZETTA including all unlocked stretch goals and your name in the "Special Thanks"-section in the Rules. Also: Get your face on a crew card. Send us your name and a photo of yourself, and our illustrator, Elin Alskog, will draw your portrait Expedition Zetta style. You will on a first-back-first-serve basis get to choose abilities and a name for your character and influence their background story (in collaboration with the game development team). Also, both the signed original sketch AND a high quality canvas print of the portrait made by Elin will be mailed to you for free! Note: By pledging at this level you will be a kind of philanthropist since your pledge will add another crew card to ALL copies of the game.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    SEK
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.