Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
Making a movie trailer for #1 bestselling paranormal thriller The Book of Paul, by Richard Long to pitch the book to TV/film producers.
Making a movie trailer for #1 bestselling paranormal thriller The Book of Paul, by Richard Long to pitch the book to TV/film producers.
54 backers pledged $3,585 to help bring this project to life.

About this project

THE BOOK OF PAUL Movie Trailer project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound

$3,585

54

The goal: We want to get a movie deal and/or HBO/SHO deal for the #1 Amazon Horror and Dark Fantasy bestseller The Book of Paul. 

The plan: We're going to shoot scenes from the book with a professional cast and crew and then edit it into an action-packed, scary, sexy trailer to show on YouTube and other social media outlets. You could look at it as a sneak peak at the film adaption of The Book of Paul--before the movie is made. 

The Book of Paul is incredibly cinematic, written in short, titled chapters that crosscut between scenes and feature multiple character perspectives. In other words, it reads like…a movie. So, naturally, we want to attract the attention of film and television producers and get a big, fat movie or HBO/SHO deal! The Book of Paul is the first volume of a seven book series (did someone say franchise?), so the sequels and prequels should keep producers and fans happy for many years to come. 

Speaking of fans, TBOP has already built up an insanely loyal and enthusiastic fan base. It’s an Amazon bestseller that has garnered 65 five-star reviews, 18 four-star reviews and a handful of one-star reviews from the more squeamish types who couldn’t handle the steamy sex and grizzly horror scenes. That shouldn’t be any problem for fans of Game of Thrones and The Walking Dead, our core demographic. 

So what’s all the excitement about? The Book of Paul is unlike anything you’ve ever read, crossing a number of genres: occult horror, mystery, thriller, dark fantasy, erotica, humor and sci-fi and literary fiction. Call it literary horror if you need a handy label, but that in no way will prepare you for what one reviewer called, “the most intense book I have ever read.” But don’t take our word for it. Check out all the Amazon and Goodreads reviews, or better yet, read the book! 

The budget basics: We’re trying to raise $3,000. But we need $5,000. The cast and crew are all top-notch, award-winning pros. They’re also all working without pay, because they believe in the project, and know they’re going to get a great piece for their reels. So where is the money going? We need $1,000 per day for camera/lighting/sound equipment (we’re using a top-of-the-line RED camera digital package and Steadicam). It’s a two-day shoot minimum, but we’d like to shoot for three days. We also need special makeup effects that are costly, plus wardrobe, set design, insurance, permits and location costs, which will swallow up whatever else we’re able to raise. 

 We NEED your help to put “Paul” on the screen--because if we don’t raise at least $3,000, we don’t get anything, according to Kickstarter policies. And one way or the other, this is going to get done! To show our appreciation to all our contributors, we have awesome rewards for each and every awesome donor. Check them out in the rewards listing. 

Great people like you deserve great rewards like this, so we want to thank you all in advance for helping us make The Book of Paul trailer film come alive in a total kickass viewing experience!

Risks and challenges

As CEO/Creative director of Long Adverting Inc., Richard Long has won over 60 industry awards for television and radio commercials, including prestigious Telly, Moebius, Omni, Vision, Communicator, Summit and Silver Microphone awards for categories including: best advertisement, writing, art direction, sound design, use of humor, editing and music. As producer/director/writer, Mr. Long has supervised all aspects of production from casting through post-production. While Murphy's Law (What can go wrong, will go wrong) applies to all facets of film production, Mr. Long is a seasoned professional with a vested interest in the project's successful outcome--and knows how to deliver the goods.

Sergei Franklin is an Emmy award-winning cinematographer with over 20 years experience in all varieties of film production. As Director of Photography for The Book of Paul Trailer, he is more than capable of delivering stunning results under any circumstances, whether adverse or optimal.

All filming will be done on location in New York City. Interior sets have all been secured and exterior shots are uncomplicated. The key props we are using in the shoot have already been made.

As with any film project (and Murphy's Law) things can go wrong and setbacks may happen. A cast or crew member could be offered a job that conflicts with our shooting schedule. Technical difficulties could occur during the shoot. However, we are fortunate to be shooting in New York City, with the most extensive resources and talent pool available in the film industry outside of LA. If we have to recast a role, or secure a new crew member, we can advertise, audition and proceed with the production within a week or two. If problems occur during shooting with equipment, there are numerous film equipment companies (and individuals) we can utilize. These advantages, combined with our years of experience, enhances our ability to overcome any challenges we may face.

Learn about accountability on Kickstarter

Support this project

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge $10 or more About $10

    Two signed Book of Paul bookmarks.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    5 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge $15 or more About $15

    3 signed bookmarks, 1 antique handmade iron nail, 1 ebook for The Book of Paul

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    2 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge $20 or more About $20

    Antique handmade iron nail (read the book for full significance!) and two signed Book of Paul bookmarks.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    3 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge $21 or more About $21

    Antique handmade iron nail (read the book for full significance!), 2 Book of Paul ebooks and two signed Book of Paul bookmarks.

    NOTE: this is what the $20 prize was originally supposed to be and couldn't be changed after someone claimed it--hence the odd amount. We are trying to get the Kickstarter people to make this change to the $20 reward. Anyone who previously donated $20 will be receiving this prize.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge $25 or more About $25

    3 Digitally autographed eBooks of THE BOOK OF PAUL. Great for gifts!

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    3 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Select this reward

    Pledge $50 or more About $50

    Eight digitally autographed eBooks of THE BOOK OF PAUL Great for gifts!

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    3 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  7. Select this reward

    Pledge $75 or more About $75

    Personalized autographed paperback of THE BOOK OF PAUL. Plus, 3 autographed digital copies!

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  8. Select this reward

    Pledge $100 or more About $100

    Acknowledgement at end of teaser trailer.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    9 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  9. Select this reward

    Pledge $101 or more About $101

    1 autographed copy of The Book of Paul, 3 ebooks, bookmarks, antique iron nail, acknowledgement at the end of the trailer!

    NOTE: this is what the $100 prize was originally supposed to be and couldn't be changed after someone claimed it--hence the odd amount. We are trying to get the Kickstarter people to make this change to the $100 reward. Anyone who previously donated $100 will be receiving this prize.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  10. Select this reward

    Pledge $200 or more About $200

    Acknowledgement at end of trailer and a personalized autographed paperback of THE BOOK OF PAUL.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    2 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  11. Select this reward

    Pledge $500 or more About $500

    Acknowledgements in trailer, autographed copy of book, and Skype conversation with best-selling author, Richard Long.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  12. Select this reward

    Pledge $1,000 or more About $1,000

    Producer credit in teaser trailer, autographed copy of book, and special guest appearance on THE DEAD END, Richard's Long's weekly radio show.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  13. Select this reward

    Pledge $2,000 or more About $2,000

    Okay, this is the most super value for the most generous of donors: If you have a product or service you advertise, the author, Richard Long, winner of over 65 advertising awards, will write a 30 second radio or TV ad, or a script for your trailer. This has a value of $5000-$12,000 depending on the project. PLUS, you get all the rewards for the $1,000 prize!

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (30 days)