Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
Escape From New York is a tour de force exhibition taking place in Paterson, NJ, May 15 - June 19, 2010 that will showcase over 30 NYC artists
Escape From New York is a tour de force exhibition taking place in Paterson, NJ, May 15 - June 19, 2010 that will showcase over 30 NYC artists
61 backers pledged $3,600 to help bring this project to life.

About

$3,600

61

Sometimes in life things just fall into your lap— take, for instance, a former silk factory. But not just any silk factory-- a five-story Architectural Digest dream in desperate need of some TLC and creative know-how to establish it as an arts destination.

This project is specifically designed to raise financing for a print and online media advertising campaign for the group art exhibition, "Escape From New York," held in the Fabricolor Building on Van Houten Street in Paterson, NJ. Additional funds raised over $3,500 will go towards cost overruns for the show to be a guaranteed success. We will be placing a full-page ad in the second week of May 2010's edition of "New York Magazine" and run online banner ads on ArtForum, Culture Pundits, and other art media.

2010 has brought with it many changes and challenges, and with it a newfound enthusiasm and excitement for New York artists. In many ways, the art world we once knew and loved has come to pass. Artists are being pushed out left and right, publications folding, galleries closing, all while more and more MFAs continue to be churned out than can possibly be hired on by Manhattan’s service industry. Space is at a premium. Do we continue to go even further east into the cramped, treeless, concrete, PCB-infested jungle of Bushwick, evenutally reaching East New York’s hour-long commute for valuable studio and exhibition space? Or do we begin to explore other venues west of the Hudson? In the wide-open (*gasp*) NEW JERSEY? In our case, we're going with Jersey.

Like the tried and true friend you keep meaning to call, but just haven’t “found the time for,” Paterson, (a gem city of the American Industrial Revolution a mere 15 minute drive over the G.W. Bridge), has immense potential as a world-class arts destination, giving artists important creative freedom with unheralded live/work/display space, and are welcoming shows such as ours with open arms. With President Obama's August 2009 declaration of the Great Falls Historic Disctrict as a National Park, the city of Paterson and its multiple warehouses and former factories are poised to become a destination to be reckoned with.

Paterson's urban proximity, yet still direct access to nature (the nation’s 2nd largest waterfall in volume next to Niagara), help make it a sleeping lion that is soon to be stirred from its slumber.

As the weeks and months progress to the exhibition’s opening on May 15th, I hope you will join me as I preview the artists involved in this endeavor, including 2010 Whitney Biennial artists Kate Gilmore and Bruce High Quality Foundation, as well as tell you the history of this facility and the historic significance of this neighboring city, just a river’s crossing away.

Your support of this project means a community in transition will be given an opportunity for renewal, as artists convert this unique space to help encourage growth and foster change where it is so desperately needed.

Artists for "Escape From New York" include:

Robert Aitchison - http://www.robertaitchison.com
Robert Appleton - http://www.re-title.com/artists/Robert-Appleton.asp
Man Bartlett - http://manbartlett.com/gallery/performance.html
Adam Bateman - http://www.adambateman.com
Alison Blickle - http://www.alisonblickle.com
Jason Robert Bell- http://www.tetragrammatron.com
Bruce High Quality Foundation - http://www.thebrucehighqualityfoundation.com
Boyce Cummings - http://www.boycecummings.com
Jennifer Dalton - http://jenniferdalton.com/
Vicki DaSilva - http://www.vickidasilva.com
Sumner Dilworth - http://www.sumnerdilworth.com
Debra Drexler - http://www2.hawaii.edu/~drexler/debra
Murray Dwertman - http://www.murraydwertman.com
Richard Eagan - http://www.artslant.com/ny/artists/show/48394-richard-eagan
Jeremy Earhart - http://www.jeremyearhart.com
Stephan Fowlkes - http://www.stephanfowlkes.com
Nicholas Fraser - http://www.nicholasfraser.com
Micah Ganske - http://www.micahganske.com
Kate Gilmore - http://www.kategilmore.com
Alex Gingrow - http://www.alexgingrow.com
Dean Goelz - http://www.likethespice.com/Artist%20Bio%20Pages/Dean%20Goelz/deangoelz.html
Grant Haffner - http://www.granthaffner.com
Iliyan Ivanov - http://www.rikka-arts.com
Kezam - http://www.flickr.com/people/kezam
Thomas Lendvai - http://www.thomaslendvai.com
Julie Lohnes - http://www.julielohnes.com
Michelle Manley - http://www.michellemanley.com
Jason Metcalf - http://www.jasonmetcalf.com
Michael Paul Miller - http://www.mpmart.net
Laelia Mitchell - http://www.laeliamitchell.com
Laurel Nakadate - http://www.laurelnakadate.com
Rafael Perez - http://www.rafaelreneperez.com and http://rafaelperezillustration.com/
Don Porcella - http://www.donporcella.blogspot.com
William Powhida - http://www.williampowhida.com
Christopher Saunders - http://christophersaunders.us/
Robert Schatz - http://www.re-title.com/artists/Robert-Schatz.asp
Sean Slemon - http://www.seanslemon.com
Peter Soriano - http://www.petersoriano.com
Tamas Veszi - http://www.veszi.com
An Xiao - http://www.anxiaostudio.com

I thank you for your support.

Olympia Lambert, Curator, "Escape From New York"

Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge $50 or more About $50

    Pledge anything $50 or higher, and "Escape From New York" Curator Olympia Lambert will take you on a private tour of the Great Falls Historic District, as well as treat you to a full Peruvian dinner at the legendary Griselda's Peruvian restaurant in downtown Paterson. To see the menu, visit http://www.griseldarestaurant.com.

    Less
    6 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge $150 or more About $150

    Multiple artists from Escape From New York will be donating works for backers giving between $150 and $249. Details to follow.

    Less
    2 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge $150 or more About $150

    For any backers pleding between $150 - $249, you will have multiple works by Escape From New York artists to select from. Please contact for details.

    Less
    4 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge $250 or more About $250

    Multiple artists from Escape From New York will be donating works to backers giving between $250 and $349, including an 8 x 10 print of Vicki DaSilva's "Bailout Bull." Please contact for further details.

    Less
    1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge $350 or more About $350

    Multiple artists from Escape From New York will be donating work to backers giving over $350, including a 30 x 26 1/2 inch mixed media on paper work from Tamas Veszi. Please contact for further details.

    Less
    2 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Select this reward

    Pledge $350 or more About $350

    The amazing Freight + Volume Gallery artist Michael Scoggins is donating two works to our cause to donors pledging $350 and above.
    Below are the work details. Check out our update section for images!
    'America'
    marker, prismacolor on paper
    8”X6”
    2005
    $1,000.00

    'Blacked Out'
    graphite, marker, prismacolor on paper
    6”X8”
    2005
    $1,000.00

    Less
    1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (27 days)