Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
Support the first issue of Worst Job Ever, a comic by Denny Connolly and Sloane Leong.
218 backers pledged $4,232 to help bring this project to life.
Last updated

About

Worst Job Ever #1 project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound

$4,232

218

The Story

While Nemo’s friends are heading off to become witches, band managers, and astronauts; she’s stuck working the overnight at a public library where she battles monsters, spirits, and nihilistic philosophers who attempt to break their way out of novels. It doesn’t pay well, but at least she gets out of late fees. 

Target Audience

Worst Job Ever is all-ages appropriate and would likely appeal to fans of Scott Pilgrim, Giant Days, Johnny Hiro, Love & Rockets, and other surreal friendship-driven comedies. The book features a diverse cast and all of the primary characters are women. The humor and action is all-ages friendly, but the characters may resonate best with YA and older readers.

The Creators

My name is Denny Connolly, and I am the writer of Worst Job Ever. I’ve been writing and drawing comics since 2009, and my work ranges from all-ages adventure titles to daily autobio comics. Most of my work has appeared in small press anthologies or literary journals (check out my ongoing comic about weight loss and high school sports at Hobart).

I’m working with the incredibly talented Sloane Leong (pencils, inks, and colors), best known for Image’s Prism Stalker. You can see more of her work at her portfolio site. The cover art is provided by Ignatz-winner Carolyn Nowak (Radishes, Girl Town, Buffy the Vampire Slayer: New School Nightmare). We appreciate you taking the time to consider backing Worst Job Ever and bringing issue #1 to life!

 The Product and Schedule 

This Kickstarter's goal is to raise the funds needed to finish and print issue #1 of Worst Job Ever. The finished product from this Kickstarter is a full color 21-page comic. The story is self-contained, but leaves behind an exciting world to explore in future issues.

The script is 100% complete, and the first 14 pages have been illustrated and colored. Sloane is ready to take on the rest of the project (7 pages of art and coloring) as soon as we secure funding. We are aiming to ship out issue one in February 2020.

We will be using PrintNinja to fulfill print orders and distribute digital rewards through Comixology (or SendOwl for users who don't have an Amazon/Comixology account).

Here's a tease of the opening 8 pages...

page 1
page 1
page 2
page 2
page 3
page 3
page 4
page 4
page 5
page 5
page 6
page 6
page 7
page 7
page 8
page 8

Why $3,700?

I want to be transparent about where every cent for this project is going. Here is a breakdown... 

The Cover by Carolyn Nowak

Meet the Cast

Nemo
Nemo
Chloe
Chloe
Julie
Julie

Communication

I plan to check in on the Kickstarter on a daily basis to answer questions and gush over how amazing our backers are.

Stretch Goals

We hit out main funding goal! With one day to go, I want to introduce our first Stretch Goal. If  the project hits $4,000, we will add a Worst Job Ever bookmark with original art by Jarod Roselló. Jarod is the brilliant cartoonist behind Top Shelf's recently released Red Panda and Moon Bear.

If we hit $4,000, everyone at the Physical Edition + Sticker Pack tier will also get a bookmark in their shipment. If you aren't already at that tier, it's not too late to increase your pledge!

____

While I am an experienced independent comic publisher, I am new to Kickstarter. Our goal is set to pay fair wages to our creative team, to pay Kickstarter fees, and to cover printing and postage. We’ve put together a great story and want to focus on getting it published.

Meeting our initial goal would be amazing, and that's primarily what we're concentrating on at this point. That said, if we make it into stretch goal territory, we do have some exciting opportunities lined up that offer backers a chance to offer input on a few finishing touches for the book, including some amazing artists on call for variant covers... If there's a stretch goal you would love to see, please mention it in the comments!

Risks and challenges

I have been self-publishing comics for nearly ten years and am fully prepared to handle the printing and shipping challenges that come along with this sort of project.

Sloane is a very experienced artist and we're confident she will finish the remaining pages in the established time frame.

In the unlikely event our deadline is in jeopardy, we'll communicate that to all of our backers here using updates.

Learn about accountability on Kickstarter
Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 1 or more About US$ 1

    Shout Out!

    You helped bring Worst Job Ever to life! You earn our eternal thanks and your name printed in the acknowledgements section of the finished book.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    2 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 3 or more About US$ 3

    Digital Club

    Paper is a dead technology anyway, right? Score a digital version of Worst Job Ever #1. (Just kidding about the dead technology thing though, definitely buy paper comics at comic shops, it's super important, y'all.)

    Includes:
    • Worst Job Ever #1 (Digital)
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    55 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 5 or more About US$ 5

    The Real Deal

    For $5 you can be one of the first people in the world to get your hands on a physical copy of Worst Job Ever #1. We know $5 is a little more expensive than the average single issue comic and we will love and cherish you forever for believing in this book.

    Includes:
    • Worst Job Ever #1 (Print Edition)
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    71 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 12 or more About US$ 12

    Physical Edition + Sticker Pack

    In addition to Worst Job Ever #1 you'll also receive a totally rad sticker pack featuring art inspired by the comic.

    Includes:
    • Worst Job Ever #1 (Print Edition)
    • Sticker Pack
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    52 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 25 or more About US$ 25

    Retailer Tier

    Do you manage a comic shop or book store and want to secure a few copies at a retailer discount? This is the tier for you! Want more than 10 copies for your store? Smart move. If you select this tier, I'll reach out and we can figure out the details of your shipment.

    Includes:
    • Worst Job Ever #1 (Print Edition) x10
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    3 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 50 or more About US$ 50

    Best Friends Club

    You really want this book to happen - we love that about you. In addition to the comic and the sticker pack, you'll also receive a limited edition print of Carolyn Nowak's amazing cover art for this issue.

    Includes:
    • Worst Job Ever #1 (Digital)
    • Worst Job Ever #1 (Print Edition)
    • Sticker Pack
    • Worst Job Ever #1 Cover Art Print
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    25 backers
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  7. Select this reward

    Pledge US$ 250 or more About US$ 250

    Who Even Are You?!

    You're basically an executive producer of Worst Job Ever. You'll have our eternal gratitude in addition to a signed copy of the comic, some stickers, a print, and a hand-written thank you card that you can show your grandchildren someday. Denny will also draw anything that you request and send it to you.

    Includes:
    • Worst Job Ever #1 (Digital)
    • Worst Job Ever #1 (Print Edition)
    • Sticker Pack
    • Worst Job Ever #1 Cover Art Print
    • Drawing of Your Choice By Denny
    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    1 backer
    $

    By pledging you agree to Kickstarter's Terms of Use, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy.

    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (30 days)