Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
A great guide to the history of monsters. Over 1100 of 'em with a key to identify each. AMAZINGLY thorough! Get it now!
A great guide to the history of monsters. Over 1100 of 'em with a key to identify each. AMAZINGLY thorough! Get it now!
148 backers pledged $8,185 to help bring this project to life.

About

PETE VON SHOLLY'S HISTORY OF MONSTERS project video thumbnail
Replay with sound
Play with
sound

$8,185

148

Eighties monsters from the HISTORY OF MONSTERS book!
Eighties monsters from the HISTORY OF MONSTERS book!

  

About my movie work
About my movie work

  

Another sample spread- notice we have Christopher Lee as The Mummy, Frankenstein's Monster and Dracula all lined up. There are many interesting grouping like this all through the mural.
Another sample spread- notice we have Christopher Lee as The Mummy, Frankenstein's Monster and Dracula all lined up. There are many interesting grouping like this all through the mural.

This is THE ULTIMATE book for fans of ANY and ALL monsters. Over 1100 fantastic creatures are featured with info on each- from the world’s mythologies, folklore, legends, and classic fiction by Bram Stoker, Mary Shelley, Conan Doyle, and H. G. Wells; pulp fiction masters Robert E. Howard, Clark Ashton Smith and others; a full H.P. LOVECRAFT spread: movies, comics animation, tv, crypto, and more!

Pete Von Sholly, who has contributed storyboards to tons of monster movies and has written and illustrated comics for Dark Horse, IDW, BOOM!, Denis Kitchen, Last Gasp, TwoMorrows and others, has spared no effort to make this brand-new collection of creatures as inclusive as possible.

Last September, Pete suffered a near-death medical emergency that brought him too close to crossing over to the Other Side for comfort. His “miracle” recovery, as the surgeons described it, left him profoundly grateful -- and renewed his determination to accomplish his artistic goals while he still walks on this side of the grass! There’s no one, dead or undead, who churns out so many great monster artworks, cartoons, and original stories – usually with a wryly humorous slant.

Pete writes, “My first kickstarter worked well and opened up the possibility of putting out my own books without waiting for publishers. With the advent of high quality digital printing and crowdfunding, the possibilities for the small self-publisher are wide open today-- a fantastic opportunity for an independent, free-spirited artist! Even a few years ago, you had to print thousands of books to get the unit price down to something sane. Then you had to find a way to get it distributed to fans, which was the hardest thing of all. And every link in the chain involved middlemen who chipped away at the artist’s profits and often injected their opinions of what they thought would sell.

“I want to spend the time that remains to me (and I hope it’s a LOT) putting out my own stuff rather than working for others. This is the most exciting time of my life in which to bring what I love to do directly to my readers.”

Sample spread from Pete Von Sholly's HISTORY OF MONSTERS
Sample spread from Pete Von Sholly's HISTORY OF MONSTERS

  

 

Risks and challenges

This is my second kickstarter project- the first was a success and everybody got what they pledged for, no problems or complaints! I am the publisher and the books will come straight from me to you.

Learn about accountability on Kickstarter

Questions about this project? Check out the FAQ

Support

  1. Select this reward

    Pledge $20 or more About $20

    BRAND NEW "UGH!" TWO-PACK!

    The latest two UGH!s feature an all Lovecraft special and a CHGGGWOM spinoff (look it up!); being a satire on Forry Ackerman and monsters magazines- especially the good old Captain Company! These are mini-comics with only 8 cheesy pages apiece. But they are GOOD cheesy pages!

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only certain countries
    1 backer
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  2. Select this reward

    Pledge $30 or more About $30

    PETE VON SHOLLY'S HISTORY OF MONSTERS

    One copy of Pete Von Sholly's History of Monsters book with FREE shipping in USA!

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Anywhere in the world
    116 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  3. Select this reward

    Pledge $35 or more About $35

    HISTORY OF MONSTERS SIGNED PRINTS

    Nice color SIGNED prints on heavy paper. $35@ which includes FREE SHIPPING
    SEE UPDATE OR HOME PAGE FOR IMAGES (4 to choose from). We got the 1930s-1940s spread and THREE from the 1950s!

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only certain countries
    7 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  4. Select this reward

    Pledge $100 or more About $100

    POSTER VERSION of HISTORY OF MONSTERS

    Beautiful SIGNED poster of the History of Monsters mural. 13" x 19" full color natch.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only United States
    2 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  5. Select this reward

    Pledge $110 or more About $110

    MONSTER ALPHABET POSTER

    Beautiful 24" x 36" poster of monsters from A to Z- SIGNED of course. Mailed in a tube.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only certain countries
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  6. Select this reward

    Pledge $110 or more About $110

    RARE UGH! ANNUAL

    Over 100 pages of Stories to make you say UGH!
    Now very rare! First come, first served- only 5 copies available.

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only certain countries
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  7. Select this reward

    Pledge $120 or more About $120

    WHOLE LOTTA UGH!

    Get 21 issues of my UGH! mini comic for $120- includes free shipping. You will see King Kong, girls, dinosaurs, and ALL KINDS of monstery goodness in these pages!

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only certain countries
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  8. Select this reward

    Pledge $165 or more About $165

    HARDCOVER HISTORY OF MONSTERS!

    SPECIAL VERY LIMITED HARDCOVER EDITION!!! Comes with DUST JACKET and Clear Brodart Protective Cover - so your nice dust jacket won't get scratched! These are Custom-made pieces and will include an original MONSTER sketch by Pete Von Sholly!

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only certain countries
    10 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  9. Select this reward

    Pledge $230 or more About $230

    ORIGINAL VON SHOLLY CUSTOM ARTWORK

    One copy of Pete Von Sholly's History of Monsters PLUS AN ORIGINAL VON SHOLLY DRAWING OF ANY MONSTER YOU CHOOSE!

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    3 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.
  10. Select this reward

    Pledge $1,000 or more About $1,000

    ORIGINAL FREDDY-SNAKE STORYBOARDS!

    Pencil on paper- Nightmare on Elm St 3 Dream Warriors- the FREDDY SNAKE sequence! 3 -pages, 8.5" x 11". Plus a print of me and Freddy himself looking over the boards on set. Each page is one of a kind!

    Less
    Estimated delivery
    Ships to Only certain countries
    0 backers
    $
    Kickstarter is not a store.

    It's a way to bring creative projects to life.

    Learn more about accountability.

Funding period

- (30 days)