Share this project


Share this project

This isn’t about the gameplay or the graphics; this is about the story. A new novel, for a new Elite.
Drew's KS is complete, but he continues to write more novels.
Drew's KS is complete, but he continues to write more novels.
435 backers pledged £7,043 to help bring this project to life.

Use this space to cheer the creator along, ask questions, and talk to your fellow backers. Please remember to be respectful and considerate. Thanks!

    1. Creator Drew Wagar on July 13

      Folks. As you'll have seen from my final update, there's no change on the Frontier side of the fence regarding ED novels. No sequels can happen unless that changes, but I'll let you know if it does. I'm working on other SF for now. In the meantime - all updates will be on - or via my newsletter > Right on, Commanders. Hopefully we'll be back someday!

    2. Creator cs on December 16, 2014

      FYI -- on November 14th 2014, they put in a single sentence in newsletter #49 that implied that they were no longer going to deliver offline support.

      In newsletter #50, David Braben clarified that it was a "creative decision", not a technical issue, that was behind their decision not to deliver DRM-free offline support.

      The vast majority of refund requests have been denied or ignored for over a month now; from our best efforts to discover, there are only about 20 confirmed refunds.

      Read the project comments for more info.

      WARNING: The official forums are being *heavily* censored and people are getting banned/suspended for being the even the slightest bit critical of the actions of Frontier Developments.

      Reddit community if you are so inclined :

    3. Creator cs on November 24, 2014

      I haven't yet decided if I would retract my refund request if David and Frontier would publicly state something like this:
      "We have heard you. We have felt your anguish. We messed up. We messed up *really* badly. Please forgive us. We would like to start earning your trust and respect back.

      We are publicly committing to delivering you the offline single-player experience that you have made clear is important to you after we made the wrong creative decision in removing it.

      We can't deliver offline to you right now, but X has been assigned the task of organizing and planning the delivery. Furthermore, from now on, you will get public monthly status reports that detail the progress being made. At any time during this process, you are welcome to get a full refund.

      We really need your support at this critical time. Would you consider giving us a second chance?"

      Why isn't this Frontier's stance?

    4. Creator cs on November 24, 2014

      Care to revise your article in light of the revelations of the new newsletter, Drew?

      They just publicly acknowledged that it was their choice in newsletter #50 -- not technical hurdles or budget issues -- that led them to remove the very feature that they promised to backers in exchange for their support to meet the Kickstarter goal.

      It is more and more likely that David Braben never had any intention of offline support -- and you are letting him get away with shafting everyone that backed Elite for the offline mode by accepting his carefully crafted syntax at face value.

      @Drew, to be clear, I admire your work ethic and writing prowess. I appreciate what you have done for Elite. Please help those that David Braben and Frontier are currently doing wrong by.

    5. Creator Drew Wagar on November 20, 2014

      @CS - Probably not the best place to post this any longer. I'm not actively checking this comment list and I'm sure few other people are. My current blog article about the offline mode is where I'm focussing my limited time. Cheers, Drew.

    6. Creator cs on November 19, 2014

      @David, @Michael, and any other FrontierDevelopments officer -- you are a disgrace.

      You continue to refuse to stand by those that supported you in your time of need to fund your project. You continue to hide behind the letter of the law while operating in complete defiance to the principles of an open and cooperative community that you consider yourself to be a part of. You have brought shame to yourselves, your company, and your country.

      Furthermore, you have abused the very nature of crowdfunding by coldly absconding with my money that I offered in good faith and in a spirit of cooperation and support. Your deeds -- your actions, your decisions -- will stand as a dark ominous warning to all future members of the crowdfunding community.

      Do the right thing. You have continued to insist that it was the right thing to remove offline support, therefore, it should not be too difficult to continue doing the right thing and refund those that feel that you bait-and-switched them.

    7. Creator Drew Wagar on October 7, 2014

      Final pledge rewards have been sent as of 07/10/2014. Thanks to everyone for your support. See you next time >

    8. Creator Drew Wagar on September 5, 2014

      This Kickstarter is now officially finished and over! :) Final pledge awards are going out. Huge thanks to everyone and see you next time!

    9. Creator Drew Wagar on June 6, 2014

      My pleasure folks - hope you enjoy the story. Let me know what you thought about it here >

    10. Creator Geraldine McDaid on June 1, 2014

      Yaay! The book is out! \o/ Really looking forward to sitting down and reading it later today. Many thanks Drew for all the updates over the year, they were wonderful. :)

    11. Creator Steffan Westcott ['Kull' on FD forum] on May 31, 2014

      Just got my Elite:Reclamation ebook :) I've so much enjoyed reading your blog posts, Drew, so am looking forward to the book itself! Well done for everything so far!

    12. Creator Drew Wagar on May 2, 2014

      A server glitch apparently. All ok now!

    13. Creator StromIV on May 2, 2014

      NVM, seems to be back up again.

    14. Creator StromIV on May 2, 2014

      Website down?

    15. Creator Drew Wagar on May 2, 2014

      Elite: Reclamation will be released to backers in ebook form on May 30th.

    16. Creator Jonty H. Campbell on November 30, 2013

      I just noticed 'Mission' Speakers in Drew's lounge...mein gott I'm such a Geek.

    17. Creator Styggron on November 30, 2013

      It is an amazing time.

    18. Creator Geraldine McDaid on November 29, 2013

      Just read your latest newsletter Drew. Yes that year was not long going in was it? Almost there now to the Alpha, closer now, closer....

    19. Creator Drew Wagar on September 20, 2013

      Website is now - but I'm sure you all know that! :)

    20. Creator Drew Wagar on January 31, 2013

      All - I'm sure most of you are aware now, but if you want to contact me or stay in touch re: progress etc please go to - I won't be monitoring this page on a regular basis now, so that website is where it will all happen. I will post update notifications via KS when I add new content. Cheers, Drew.

    21. Creator Drew Wagar on January 9, 2013

      Recommend you download the books from the link below, that way you'll get the latest and greatest versions.…

    22. Creator Your average joe shmoe on January 5, 2013

      CatInSpace, I'll be doing the same, immersing myself in Oolite and reading Drew's books during the Long Wait.

    23. Creator CatInSpace on January 4, 2013

      Congratulations Drew, and well done everyone!
      I'm reading the Oolite saga these days, and much enjoying that. Very much looking forward to your new book!

    24. Creator Juan Rial on January 3, 2013

      Aww man, I'm late to the party as usual, but hey.. Congrats, Drew! Looking forward to the book! :D

    25. Creator pagroove on January 3, 2013

      Drew fantastic work. Looking foward to a new story!

    26. Creator John Hoggard on January 3, 2013

      7K Drew - brilliant - well done (everybody!)

    27. Creator Geraldine McDaid on January 3, 2013

      Well done Drew I knew you would do it, but WOW!!

    28. Creator Drew Wagar on January 3, 2013

      Fantastic result folks - I'm well chuffed with that! Thanks for staying with me until the bitter end! Now the hard work begins!

    29. Creator Mark on January 3, 2013

      Well done drew all is well in the universe

    30. Creator Jax on January 3, 2013


    31. Creator Stephen Varey [Super Manx on FD forums] on January 3, 2013

      Well done Drew, hurry up and write it already!!!

    32. Creator Commander Kevin Jameson on January 3, 2013

      Well done. Hope you can sleep now.

    33. Creator Matthew Bater on January 3, 2013


    34. Creator conrad edwards [Imperial bounty hunter] on January 3, 2013

      You can go to bed now. :-)

    35. Creator Charles N on January 3, 2013


    36. Creator Rorschach on January 3, 2013


    37. Creator Victor Tombs on January 3, 2013

      Congratulations Drew!

    38. Creator Crispy Leper on January 3, 2013

      Great stuff.
      Best book Kickstarter, well done @Drew!!!

    39. Creator Alien on January 3, 2013

      Well done Drew ... the first person to do a Kickstarter to fund a Kickstarter.

    40. Creator Eckhart on January 3, 2013

      Did it

    41. Creator Rorschach on January 3, 2013

      Ah, why not - Jonty'd.

    42. Creator Steffan Westcott ['Kull' on FD forum] on January 3, 2013

      What the heck. Jonty Mk II deployed. Who's gonna come with me?

    43. Creator Styggron on January 3, 2013

      @Drew sorry I could not pledge more, ED took everything I had. Looking forward to the printed edition. Well done again.

    44. Creator Crispy Leper on January 3, 2013

      I've been lucky enough to see the end of every E:d related Kickstarter to date.
      I certainly wasn't going to miss this, the original and, I'm hoping, no expecting, the best!!!

    45. Creator Steffan Westcott ['Kull' on FD forum] on January 3, 2013

      Darn it, 6 minutes to go, so close to the next stretch goal. What to do, what to do...

    46. Creator Rorschach on January 3, 2013

      Less than 10 minutes to go until the KS deadline and despite some of the early, ahem, 'reservations' you've achieved 150% of your pledge target. Congratulations on an extremely well run and successful campaign!

      I'm very much looking forward to tracking your progress with Reclamation, as I get through the rest of your Oolite saga.

      Bravo, sir!

    47. Creator Drew Wagar on January 3, 2013

      @Neil - Thanks for that - always great to hear people have read my stuff!
      @Gimi - Thanks... I think! :)

    48. Creator Neil on January 3, 2013

      Great Kickstarter campaign and excellent presentation and very informative for pledgers. I read all the Oolite books and a big Elite fan. All the best and looking forward to reading the finished book.

Show older comments