by Karl Tiedemann
Awesome Congrats! Can't wait to get mine! :D
Excellent news! Thank you very much!
Heh, timely update I just posted wondering if I should have gotten mine yet. Great news!
Hey Karl, awesome work. Cant wait to see it for real :)
Exciting news! Thanks!
Cool, can't wait to play!!
Awesome! I'm really excited to try this with my gaming group! :)
Congratulations, I can't wait to play!
Very excited. Can't wait to play the final version! My group enjoyed the demo over the winter holidays, we have been ready for the final!
WOOOOT! I got game night with the guys in a couple weeks *crosses fingers it comes in time*
Congratulations Karl, great to see your baby finally hitting the shores! This must make you proud now.
Just got it in the post. Busily calling people to get together a game.
Congrats, Karl! Looking forward to putting together the old crew for some heist-ing action.
These haven't all gone out yet, right? So some of us should still be looking for that shipping notification soon, and not already have it.
I'm with Colin, very (impatiently) awaiting that shipping notification!
I know it has been a long wait. I'm going as fast as I can, while still keeping my day job.
Thanks for being patient with us Karl! I'm just really excited to play.
Ha! Oh jeez. I think you've got that backwards. Thanks for being patient with *me.
Received my copy last Friday afternoon! I had a really busy weekend, but managed to sneak in a first play. Really enjoyed the game, and looking forward to playing it a bunch more!
So if we have rules questions, what is the best method to get answers.
We hit a snag on the Trade in rules on Page 6 vs. the Definition of Trade in Cost on Page 7.
(pg 7) Trade-In Cost: 5 ability points, 5 notoriety points, or a mixture of the two.
But on Page 6, there is nothing noting the combination of using both Ability Points and Notoriety Points to pay for Trading In. So is the Glossary of Terms in error or should that exist on Page 6?
@Nathan: I'm working on the official TPH site which will have a good place for Q&A, but in the meantime I'll answer any question anywhere I find it. :)
The glossary is actually in error. I used to allow combining AP and Notoriety for trading in, but later removed it for the sake of forcing a choice between giving up cards or giving up Notoriety. Apparently, I did not update the glossary to reflect this. Thanks for bringing my attention to it.
Let me take the opportunity to mention this about trading on Notoriety points: You *can* go into debt and go below 0 Notoriety Points when trading in. Of course, you're writing checks that your body can't cash, so you'll have to dig yourself out of that hole.
Thank you Karl, we had a great first game and look forward to getting into the thick of things again here soon. The only other question we had was, is there a limit to the number of heists a player can play in a turn? Our situation was near end-game and the player started Trading In cards and drawing a mix of loot and main. Luck was on her side and she drew a Heist and a Loot worth 3+, being a Professional we understood that whenever a heist was drawn it had to be played. So she would do that heist and despite the group's efforts she would succeed and through the next loot drawn she would trade in and got lucky and got another heist and did the above again and in doing so, crossed the finish line first and with just a few Notoriety points ahead of everyone else. I am sure it was a fluke case, but it did bring up the question of how many heists and does a Professional have to play them even if drawn in the Trade-In activities?
Thanks again for making this game.
I'm glad you had a great time. And I'm impressed that your friend was able to successfully pull off all those Pro jobs in a row! Well done.
However, I'm afraid my ambiguous wording may have given her an edge. Regardless of whether they are a Professional or not, a Player may only attempt a single Heist during their turn.
The problem is that in the rules I wrote "as a Professional, the Player must attempt any Heist card they draw" -- which seems to apply to ANY time a Pro draws a Heist card regardless if it's their turn or if they've already attempted a Heist. But no, the intent was for this rule to ONLY apply to the start of their turn and draw cards from either the Pro or Main deck.
Sorry for the confusion, but apparently you all managed to have fun anyway! I'll update the rules to make this more clear.
Thanks for your support.
About how many are left to ship? I'm still eagerly awaiting my copy! :)
Cliff: Not many. So very soon now!