Share this project

Done

Share this project

Done
SmartHalo is a smart biking system that lets you focus on what matters the most - the road.
SmartHalo is a smart biking system that lets you focus on what matters the most - the road.
SmartHalo is a smart biking system that lets you focus on what matters the most - the road.
3,354 backers pledged CA$ 538,723 to help bring this project to life.

Use this space to cheer the creator along, and talk to your fellow backers.

Have a question?

Only backers can post comments. Log In
    1. CycleLabs Creator 5 days ago

      @Albert: We sent a new unit on it's way to replace your current unit. As far as the policy goes, we simply wanted to point out that Kickstarter is not a store, but a platform where entrepreneurs and supporters get together to build projects, which always have risks involved. That being said, we will exchange any defective units at our cost and support you along the way with any questions, opinions and suggestions. You can also expect constant improvements as new software releases go out.

      @Robert: Thank you so much for your comments and we're glad you are enjoying the experience thus far!!!

      @Francois: Where did you try to write us? We shipped your SmartHalo a few weeks back. If you could send us an email to support@smarthalo.bike we will be able to provide you with tracking information and we will get you your order.

      @Stefan: if auto-fitness is ON and you have always set it will track when you get on your bike and ride. We are working on a project to improve navigation search. If it is not working at all for you, I would advise you to send us an email to support@smarthalo.bike

      Thanks Everyone!
      Colin

    2. Stefan Totev on July 14

      @CycleLabs
      1) There's no option in the app to set the fitness module to 'always'... Everything in the phone settings' pane for SmartHalo is ON and location is set to always.
      2) I've said auto-light should have worked by incorporating a light sensor which turns the light on when it's dark. 'Turn on at sunset hour' is too dumb for this kind of pretentious smart device, don't you think?
      3) The new update from today 1.3.4 didn't logged me out and kept my settings.
      4) navigation search still DOES NOT WORK in the new update. Please have it fixed for god's sake!

    3. Missing avatar

      Francois Chlous on July 13

      Hello !

      I m one of your first contributors...
      you NEVER answer to my question about the shipping !!!
      Are U bankrupted ? Is there still somebody working there ?
      So pissed off !

      François Chlous

    4. Missing avatar

      Robert Pound
      Superbacker
      on July 12

      I am really sorry some people are having problems. I have to reiterate that for me this is the best device, works so well. I have 2 others bike sat navs and they are not a touch on this. Only wish the light was brighter.

    5. Alberto Barrios on July 12

      really guys.. With all respect... i feel really cheated with the product and i cant order a refund. and thats no policy from kickstarter its your policy because proyects like Lords of hellas has a refund policy. So its your policy, not kickstarter policy.

    6. CycleLabs Creator on July 11

      @Ziggy: This is not someone we have planned in the short term, but we may make this available in the future. We can't say for certain yet.

      Hey @Stefan @Andy - We’re sorry you are not having the experience you thought you would have while using the device. We are working hard to improve the navigation section as we are receiving a lot of data that it is inconsistent in a few countries. You can see what we are working on here - https://www.smarthalo.bike/blog/summer-roadmap/

      This is strange that the auto-light is not working, did you have it activated in the app and paired with your phone after dark to test it out?

      The fitness feature can track your stats without the need to set goals, just ensure that fitness tracking is on and that your phone settings for the app are set to always.

      You should not be forced to log out with every update moving forward.

      Hey @Alberto - we hear you about the instructions. That is something we will address shortly to make sure such a situation doesn’t happen again. Please contact the support team to see how we can help you out. We’ll find a way to make it work for you: support@smarthalo.bike

      @Brad - As this is a Kickstarter project, and a Kickstarter reward, we are not in any obligation to do refund for these specific units. With that said, we’ve found arrangements with most unsatisfied customers so far, and return is an option, of course. Please contact our support team directly: support@smarthalo.bike

      Thanks everyone, if you have further questions please email us at support@smarthalo.bike

      Thanks,
      Colin

    7. Andy Fitter on July 11

      Re Stefans Comment "the whole fitness module is not thought-out well. I have to set a goal and then it works. What if I just want to ride as much as I want to and then see my data? This is the most basic thing anyone would want to see in this module. Extremely frustrating! " I agree entirely. Usually I just want to ride my particular route or until Im tired and see the stats of my trip - I don't want to have to set a specific goal.

    8. Ziggy Ziegler on July 10

      Is there any plan to make an API available? I've got some interesting ideas for arduino-android combination projects that can interface with SH.

    9. Brad Ashton on July 10

      What is the return policy? Not sure the device is worth the money for what little it does and the problems it has.

    10. Alberto Barrios on July 8

      Ok...I a really pissed off. I just noticed that my device have a conection problem and saty connect to my phone only like a minute and then my phone says that the device is not connect. The information in the package is really really reallyyyyyy poooor. because I thought that one of the wholes below the device was for reset and apparently if you put something inside it the devise will be broke and i did it. That doesnt appear in the instruction or something like that. I have been waiting for my device like more than a year and I broke it becouse of the poor instruction and information inside the device. I dont know but i am not happy wih the device and i only have a piece of plastic with light that doesnt work if dont stay conect with the usb cable.

    11. Alberto Barrios on July 8

      Mmmm i just receive ny smarthalo and i am........ worried.

      The thing is that i connect by bluetooth the device on mu phone and it just stay connect for like... 1 minute and it shut down and stay almost off and my app says that the device is not connected. How can i solve this problem??

    12. Stefan Totev on July 6

      I'm disappointed.. After an year delay I was expecting more than provided.
      1) the navigation search doesn't work at all (I'm in Bulgaria). No Cyrillic, no Latin, nothing. It displays only name of cities, no streets, no POI, nothing...
      2) the auto light doesn't turn on automatically when it is dark. I was made to believe it has a light sensor. It just turns on after sunset hour, which is pretty lame and not "smart" at all...
      3) the whole fitness module is not thought-out well. I have to set a goal and then it works. What if I just want to ride as much as I want to and then see my data? This is the most basic thing anyone would want to see in this module. Extremely frustrating!
      4) after the today update (1.3.3) I had to login in (which was difficult, the email and password spots were not accessible) over again and readjust my settings. Even my device had to be reconnected. Only my tapcode was saved... Should we do this after EVERY SINGLE update??

      I am writing all of this here, because your support doesn't want to respond to my question #1. I've been waiting for weeks. They only replied with "send us a screenshot" and then - a total blackout. I've shot few reminding messages, no response.

    13. CycleLabs Creator on July 2

      @Wouter: I'd love to hear more about it, could you send me an email to colin@smarthalo.bike with more information on the initiative.

      @Daniel: For the moment we are focusing on improving the product and shipping all remaining orders after which we will have more information on this.

      @Daryl: I will follow up with your email correspondence to see what happened.

      @Takao: The wireless charging stretch goal was not implemented. I invite you to read this article on why it was not implemented - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1106460188/smarthalo-turn-your-bike-into-a-smart-bike/posts/1566778

      Thanks Everyone!
      Colin

    14. Takao Ishigaki on June 25

      Was the wireless charging stretch goal implemented?

    15. Missing avatar

      Daryl Ward on June 24

      Contacted your email hotline as I still have no device. The delivery statys sats delivered and I have nothing. Can you please check where the device is / what has happened.

    16. Missing avatar

      Daniel Lerps on June 23

      Hi. I'm happy the way the Halo turned out. I was wondering about the API for developers... Wasn't something like that planned as well?

    17. Wouter de Valk on June 23

      Hello SmartHalo,

      This is Wouter aka Backer 2,807.

      Thanks for the SmartHalo! love my SmartHalo so far, its sturdy, effective and simple to use.

      I happen to be executing a program which promotes cycling commutes in Haarlem, as part of the larger Amsterdam area. How is your Dutch ? http://beteropweg.com/ :) This program allows cycling participants to save for gifts, vouchers and good causes.

      SmartHalo fits the cyclists, and the larger Amsterdam area finds out about your great product! Would you consider supporting this program by becoming a partner?

      Thanks for considering!

      Wouter

    18. CycleLabs Creator on June 22

      @Shannon: The light can be manually controlled via a double tap to the touch screen of SmartHalo, perhaps you activated this by accident.

      - We are aware and investigating this bug. Fitness tracking is one of our priorities this week. Meanwhile it seems that removing the app and reinstalling it sometimes fixes the issue.

      Make sure that your location permissions are set to always.

      Sometimes this problem gets fixed by logging out and logging back in from the app, after take a trip and it should save.

      If you don’t notice improvements in a few weeks, I encourage you to follow up with the status of this.

      Also, Make sure you have the latest software and firmware versions.

      - Thank you for that suggestion regarding switching the light between blinking and straight beam without opening the app. I will share that feedback with the team.

      - Navigation: To be implemented later on this summer. GPX app download and upload integration for map programming will become available soon. Along with the ability to set waypoints for navigation.

      We will also soon be making multiple route selection available and improved routing.

      The compass feature is being put into beta testing as it is currently not ready for launch, it will come as a software update down the road.

      Read more about the things we are currently working on - https://www.smarthalo.bike/blog/summer-roadmap/

      @Rodolfo: The fee you are experiencing is a VAT fee imposed by your county.

      Thanks!
      Colin

    19. Missing avatar

      Rodolfo Drudi
      Superbacker
      on June 21

      I received mine right now with a cool surprise. € 12,78 of custom duties. How does it come???

    20. Shannon Keough on June 21

      Have had mine for a couple days and taken it on half a dozen rides. Hardware seems to work pretty well, but there are quite a few issues still in the software that really need to be addressed:
      - The light came on in the middle of the day when I was riding today, so the sunset to sunrise feature clearly doesn't work properly. This is going to waste the battery horribly if I don't notice to turn it off manually.
      - The fitness tracking doesn't work. So far I've had it record nothing for a whole ride and also once record about half of the actual ride that I did (rode 12 kms, app said I had done 6). And it doesn't save anything. Even when I've checked the app immediately after stopping and it comes up with a "saving" dialogue, I have zero past rides listed right now and my lifetime stats are all at zero.
      - At least once it failed to connect and I had to manually open the app and make it connect to get the light to turn on.
      - There really needs to be a way to change the light from solid to flashing and vice-versa without needing to open the app. Flashing light is much safer on the road, but you really need a solid beam when you go on a track that has poor or no lighting. Its a pain in the *** to have to stop and take my phone out to change it. Every other light I've owned has needed one or two button presses to change.
      - Navigation is still unusable because the pathfinding is bad and you can't change it, still waiting on that update.

      At this point, while the hardware seems functional enough, the software is at best early beta. If I bought this product in a shop I would be taking it back for a refund. Hopefully you can update the software, a lot, and soon, and turn it into something that actually adds value to my bike. At the moment its just a very expensive light that doesn't work very well and isn't particularly bright.

    21. CycleLabs Creator on June 20

      @Julian: You will need to open the app on your phone, plug SmartHalo in and it should disarm the alarm because of it's pairing. You need to have his phone with the app open too
      otherwise you can try to disarm with the tap code, but there might not be enough time.
      This issue is fixed with the latest firmware update.

      @Sara: Will do!

      @Stefan: Thank you so much for your kind words, The locking mechanism starts to loosen up over time and becomes much more fluid and easy to use. If you have worse problems with it, email us at support@smarthalo.bike

      @Daryl: Could you send this to support@smarthalo.bike so that we can track what happened to your order with our shipping partners.

      Thanks!
      Colin

    22. Missing avatar

      Daryl Ward on June 20

      Hi
      I got a notice my SmartHalo was despatched and had cleared customs and was delivered - still not received anything - I was expecting a trip to customs to pick it up - but I still have no notification. Can you please check what has happened.
      Thanks

      My backer number is 2794

    23. Sara CA on June 20

      @CycleLabs Hi, I just sent you guys an email. Please, get back to me as soon as possible.

    24. Stefan Kempf on June 19

      Dear Friends of SmartHalo, I can only say one thing: BRAVO!!

      I got your product today and fixed it on my bike. It looks gorgeous! I was a little bit afraid, that it might be to big and clumpy but my fears didn't came true. Absolutely amazing product and very well done, I'm looking forward riding with this thing and giving it the true street-stress-test, but I'm pretty sure it will handle well.

      I'm only having some troubles getting the lock to really close, which it does after a few wiggles. So I'll have to get some experience with that. Otherwise, everything is really really great. I'm happy that I backed this project.

      All best greetings from Switzerland, keep up the good work!

    25. CycleLabs Creator on June 19

      @sara: thanks for messaging us Sara.

      @jungjin: You did not fill out the survey in which we collected shipping information. Just email support@smarthalo.bike including your shipping info and that you are a backer yet to receive their device. They will have your unit sent over ASAP.

      @Mark: Thank Mark, we hope you enjoy. Note that we will be providing upgrades and improvements with every new update.

      @Bogoy: Thank you so much for those kind words. We are trying to be as communicative and as helpful as possible. We know with new tech, this is a crucial part to the formula for a great experience. We can't wait to hear from you again!

      @Robert: Hi, thanks so much for your feedback and kind words. We will be adding these integrations among other things. I encourage everyone to check out the link below.

      https://www.smarthalo.bike/blog/summer-roadmap/

      Thanks Everyone!
      Colin

    26. Missing avatar

      Robert Pound
      Superbacker
      on June 17

      So I fitted mine today and used it and of the 2 other types I have this currently, is the best, its sound level is great and you are not going to miss a call ever again.

      Only think I would fault currently is you can't set own route. ( I have read it's coming)

      Today rather than sending me down the road I was on it kept wanting me to turn off the direct route to my destination which I can't quite fathom.

      But I very impressed

    27. Bogoy Hafner on June 16

      Thanks for the info :) Let me just say that I really appreciate how you communicate with your backers - have seen some projects failing here... it does convey a sense of actually being tangible and of course especially that you are interested in your project yourselves :)

    28. Mark Cockshoot on June 16

      Arrived, charging, will install on bike over weekend and test. Looks/feels quality though.

    29. Sara CA on June 16

      @CycleLabs, I just sent you an email, for you to send me both documents needed. Thanks!

    30. Sara CA on June 16

      Thank you all!

    31. Missing avatar

      jungjin on June 16

      I have not received the product yet.
      When will you ship?

    32. CycleLabs Creator on June 15

      @Til @Sara: email our support team (support@smarthalo.bike) asking them to provide you with a Declaration of Conformity document. You can present this to customs in order to unlock your device. If they also require an invoice, let us know via support in the same email and we will be happy to provide that for you as well. This is issue has only come up in Germany and is still quite rare. Future batches are being prepared properly according to the specific German case. If your unit does end up getting sent back to us. No worries, we will add you to a short list of backers who we will re-ship to with this new conforming batch.

      @Julian: Try charging your SmartHalo via our USB provided and a standard laptop or computer without interruption until full. Unplug, and from the app, sign out and sign back in. Disable your alarm and re-enable and test it out. If you email support@smarthalo.bike they will have a fix for you.

      @Kilian: Thank you for some clarification. This will not be an issue with future batches. But, like Kilian said, reach out to support for the documentation they require of you.

      @Andy: Thanks for your comment, glad to hear!

      @Bogoy: Thank you for that feedback. Here is a link to some things we are working on among the these you mentioned should be corrected - https://www.smarthalo.bike/blog/latest-shipping-update/
      We will look into alternative sound notification options.

      Thanks Everyone!
      Colin

    33. Bogoy Hafner on June 15

      Finally got around to test the Halo today... but it didn't really convince me yet... It re-calculates often, even on straight streets, usually just before a crossing or a turn off, only to be late in announcing the turn, signaling to turn around, and then recalculates again... it also strays from the initially plotted path (shown in the app) on its own for no appearant reason, and chooses to drive around a block instead of taking the straight and quicker way (shown on the map) a lot... so the wayfinding seems quirky to me... The signaling sound is an annoing kind soundeffect as well, but turning it off means looking at the Halo all the time, which is bad on the streets :P

      I also left the bike locked a few times today, while I entered some stores - the second time around the app would not reconnect to the Halo even after closing it and switching Bluetooth off and on... a reboot of the phone finally did allow me to reconnect... the halo was still on 72% charge (the phone on 80something), so it can't be a charge issue (and it would be really nice, if the double tap to check the charge would actually work, instead of needing to connect to a possibly de-charged device with the app first)

      Not giving up on it yet - might just need some adjustments ;)

    34. Andy Fitter on June 15

      Backer 36XX received in the UK, no extra charges to pay.

    35. Julian Wagner on June 15

      @CycleLabs: Still no response :-/
      Please help me, I can't use my device!
      See: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1106460188/smarthalo-turn-your-bike-into-a-smart-bike/comments…

      Thanks!

    36. Missing avatar

      Kilian Hoffmann on June 15

      Hey Sara
      I wrote an Mail to support@smarthalo.bike and they send me an invoice and a declaration of conformity within one day.
      I requested it after reading some of the comments, but my customs office were not asking for such an document.
      The only hint they gave is that the sender should attach the invoice on the outside of the package.

    37. Missing avatar

      Til Weber on June 14

      Hey Sara,
      Yeah, I got the same issue with German customs but understood from their note that this can be fixed by paying 35 USD / 29 EUR and have Deutsche Post handle the process ...
      Doesn't seem to be the case and going by your post, the problem is even more serious - this get's worse by the minute :-(

    38. Sara CA on June 14

      Hi @CycleLabs,
      I live in Germany and received a notification from Customs. I went there today and they are helding my SH, because apparently it was not declared properly and now they have to check, whether there are any legal restrictions subjected to the device in order to cross the border!!
      OMG! I felt like some kind of terrorist!
      I thought I wouldn't have any trouble. What has gone wrong? Shouldn't that have been properly explained when the SH was shipped internationally?
      Anyone else from Germany with the same issue as me?

    39. Julian Wagner on June 14

      @CycleLabs
      I don't have any responses. Ticket ID is: 2451

      So, the thing is, I start charging, the alarm starts and the device shuts down because it consumes too much power, I guess. It charges again, a bit, and the alarm starts again and it switches off again. And it starts all over again.. What to do? How can I reuse my device again? :(

    40. Missing avatar

      Til Weber on June 14

      Hey guys - I received an official note yesterday that the package has not been declared properly to pass customs and is now stuck in customs. Unless I am willing to pay an extra 35 USD in custom duties and import tariffs it won't released to me. NOT COOL! Wost CX ever!

    41. CycleLabs Creator on June 13

      @Tim Monroe: You should have your tracking number sent to your inbox now.

      @Christopher: Thank you so much, we put a lot of thought into it and are now hoping the device wow's you in a similar way.

      @Robert: we have your shipping details just send us a message or an email to support@smarthalo and the info will be provided

      @V: email us via support@smarthalo.bike and they will arrange to get you set up with the proper working pieces.

      @Wf Ran: thank you so much for your feedback, which we will take into account. The battery in the app does show % if you click on the top right device icon and are paired.

      @Sven: Thanks for keeping up with us while we do so!

      @Julian: You should have a response in your email, let me verify. Initial charging should be done continuously to full power through the USB cable provided. We recommend charging via laptop or standard computer charge to wake up SmartHalo. Devices arrive with no charge and therefore need to be given a large amount of initial power.

      @Adrian: see above and I hope this works for you. If problem is not solved, flag it by emailing support@smarthalo.bike

      Thanks everyone and go check out our latest update on what improvements we are working on right now - https://www.smarthalo.bike/blog/summer-roadmap/

      Colin

    42. Adrian Day on June 13

      Hi,

      Mine is the same as Julians, it won't charge, i can plug into the wall and nothing, on the laptop it works... if connected to the laptop, the second I disconnect it turns off.

    43. Julian Wagner on June 13

      @cycle labs: hi there!
      I can't charge my smarthalo. I already created a support ticket last Friday. Please help.

      Thanks! :)
      Best, Julian

    44. Sven Ender on June 13

      @CycleLabs

      thanks for your quick respond and i'm restless in awaiting all the other features =D

    45. Wf Ran on June 13

      Just got mine today. The installation isn't that smooth if you follow step-by-step esp the securing of the mounts then installing the SmartHalo unit. It should advise user to tighten with some allowance and make sure the Smart Halo unit is secured with the key...then tighten the screws of the mount.
      The app itself, battery indication should be more elaborate showing number of days or some kinda %.
      Overall it's a nice product but i havent started navigation so still hopeful thou. Good Job so far !
      Keep it up !

    46. Missing avatar

      V on June 12

      Got the SmartHalo today (never got a tracking number) and tried to install it. Unfortunately, one of the bottom brackets is defective. It doesn't matter how I tried to install it, without spacers and with the short screws, or with the spacers and long screws, one of the screws doesn't engage/connect with the hex nut embedded in the bottom spacer, so there's no way of tightening the SmartHalo.

      What do you advise me to do in this situation? Can you send me just the defective part, or do I have to return the SmartHalo?

      Thank you for your help.

    47. Missing avatar

      Robert Pound
      Superbacker
      on June 12

      3577 got shipping details

    48. Christopher Louie on June 12

      Cyclelabs, I received my SmartHalo(s) last week. I installed the first one on my wife's bike and allow me to complement you on one of the best unboxing and on-boarding experiences I've had in a very long time.

    49. Missing avatar

      Tim Monroe on June 12

      Hello CycleLabs:

      I am backer #3,204 and I have not received a tracking number (yes, I checked my spam folder). Last Friday I submitted a request for the tracking number to support@smarthalo.bike and was assigned a help desk ticket that was active until earlier this afternoon. Unfortunately I have not yet received the tracking number and the help desk ticket is no longer active.

      What is my next step?

    50. CycleLabs Creator on June 12

      @Sven: You can use the help cards on each of the app tabs to better navigate the app. They are noted by the question mark "?" icon. the speedometer can be found by setting a fitness goal on the fitness tab. You are correct to note that not all features are available yet, but they are being worked on and will be added with a simple software/firmware update. See the latest update for more information on what we are working on.

      Thanks!

Show older comments